DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Adding an outlet to a circuit of BX wiring w/ metal boxes?




Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-08-2012, 08:37 AM  
CoconutPete
Old houses & German cars
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North CT, North CT / Denmark
Posts: 12
Default Adding an outlet to a circuit of BX wiring w/ metal boxes?

Looking for options as far as adding an outlet behind my TV.

There is an outlet lower down on the wall where the TV is.
There are currently 6 outlets on this circuit
Wiring is BX with grounding straps in the metal boxes.
The outlet in question is in the middle of a circuit so I have 2 sets of wires there already.

What do you think? Is it too much to squeeze 3 sets AND a receptacle into that metal box? Is it even a good idea? Is it even allowed to bring new 12/3 into a box like that?

Thank You


CoconutPete is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 09:38 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: , Western Hemisphere, N of the equator
Posts: 2,471
Liked 176 Times on 162 Posts
Likes Given: 108

Default

This is the purpose of Box Fill calculations and the interpretation of these rules is sometimes tricky.


Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 04:22 PM  
CallMeVilla
Senior Member
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,641
Liked 590 Times on 449 Posts
Likes Given: 246

Default

A picture would really help! The size of the box helps determine the number of wires it can handle due to heat and stress. The number of devices on the circuit will limit the receptacles.

How many receptacles are in that box now? Example: a double gang would have two receptacles with four "plug in" locations.

What is the breaker on that circuit? 15A, 20A or thermonuclear?

More info would really help ...
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 07:28 PM  
CoconutPete
Old houses & German cars
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North CT, North CT / Denmark
Posts: 12
Default

This outlet is in my guestroom, but it's the same single gang box with one coming in and one going out as well as the outlet, so 3 sets of wires total in the box.
Click image for larger version

Name:	a4.jpg
Views:	545
Size:	22.1 KB
ID:	4597  
CoconutPete is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 01:52 PM  
nealtw
Contractor retired
 
nealtw's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 23,711
Liked 3052 Times on 2671 Posts
Likes Given: 5043

Default

Hows your math skills?
http://www.hubbellcatalog.com/raco/RACO_boxes.asp?FAM=R..
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 02:46 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: , Western Hemisphere, N of the equator
Posts: 2,471
Liked 176 Times on 162 Posts
Likes Given: 108

Default

Your area may use one of these editions of the NEC
https://law.resource.org/pub/us/code....nec.2011.html
http://freenec.com/T1.html

From the look of your wiring your house is very old. The insulation may crumble off in your hands and the conductors may be brittle.

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 12-11-2012 at 07:45 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 05:55 PM  
CallMeVilla
Senior Member
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,641
Liked 590 Times on 449 Posts
Likes Given: 246

Default

If this was my house, I would remove the box and install a new double gang if the circuit can support it. It is worth doing and the wall repair isn't that big a deal. Can you provide the wiring layout?
CallMeVilla is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:44 PM  
CoconutPete
Old houses & German cars
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North CT, North CT / Denmark
Posts: 12
Default

I think I've arrived at a different decision.

I have to refinish a piece of the floor in the spring anyway. When I'm doing that I plan on chopping the wires and pulling them both into the basement and putting them together in a junction box, eliminating this outlet from the circuit. Then I'll add another box 3' above this one and have my electrician put in a new circuit to just these 2 boxes. That way everything entertainment related is on its own circuit.
CoconutPete is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 10:26 PM  
BridgeMan
Senior Member
 
BridgeMan's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cottage Grove, Oregon
Posts: 744
Liked 79 Times on 69 Posts

Default

You'd be wise to have Sparky run completely new grounded wiring all the way from the service panel to the new boxes. Possibly even consider doing so to more existing circuits, especially those that have higher draws. Or go the whole hog and replace the entire service panel with a new (200 A.) one using completely new wiring and circuit breakers, instead of those pesky fuses you're always replacing now. At least around here, most home fires are electrical-related or dirty dryer vents.
BridgeMan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 09:17 AM  
CoconutPete
Old houses & German cars
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North CT, North CT / Denmark
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BridgeMan View Post
You'd be wise to have Sparky run completely new grounded wiring all the way from the service panel to the new boxes. Possibly even consider doing so to more existing circuits, especially those that have higher draws. Or go the whole hog and replace the entire service panel with a new (200 A.) one using completely new wiring and circuit breakers, instead of those pesky fuses you're always replacing now. At least around here, most home fires are electrical-related or dirty dryer vents.
That is the approach I have taken with my house. All the "high draw" stuff is getting new wiring. My kitchen has been completely rewired, the outlets that window A/C units get plugged into have brand new dedicated circuits and my bathrooms are next. I'm basically trying to get it to the point where the old bx wiring supports nothing but some lamps and a cell phone charger or two. That's what finally convinced me to just bite bullet and run a new circuit here. I need to have my electrician come by at some point anyway to run wire through the conduit I laid going to my garage. I like electric stuff but i know where my limits are.


CoconutPete is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Tiny junction boxes for alarm wiring D725A Electrical and Wiring 5 05-24-2017 11:11 PM
Need help wiring this 15A 120V GFCI outlet in existing circuit ??? vikasintl Electrical and Wiring 3 09-18-2015 08:49 AM
Adding 110v Outlet off of 220v Oven Outlet? savatreatabvr Electrical and Wiring 4 01-25-2014 06:21 PM
Adding an Outlet to Existing Circuit? savatreatabvr Electrical and Wiring 2 11-03-2013 07:08 PM
Additional Circuit Breaker Boxes mrissala Electrical and Wiring 4 12-09-2005 05:18 AM



Newest Threads