DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Adding an outlet to a circuit of BX wiring w/ metal boxes?




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-08-2012, 08:37 AM  
CoconutPete
Old houses & German cars
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North CT, North CT / Denmark
Posts: 12
Default Adding an outlet to a circuit of BX wiring w/ metal boxes?

Looking for options as far as adding an outlet behind my TV.

There is an outlet lower down on the wall where the TV is.
There are currently 6 outlets on this circuit
Wiring is BX with grounding straps in the metal boxes.
The outlet in question is in the middle of a circuit so I have 2 sets of wires there already.

What do you think? Is it too much to squeeze 3 sets AND a receptacle into that metal box? Is it even a good idea? Is it even allowed to bring new 12/3 into a box like that?

Thank You



__________________
CoconutPete is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2012, 09:38 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

This is the purpose of Box Fill calculations and the interpretation of these rules is sometimes tricky.



__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2012, 04:22 PM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,291
Liked 403 Times on 314 Posts
Likes Given: 166

Default

A picture would really help! The size of the box helps determine the number of wires it can handle due to heat and stress. The number of devices on the circuit will limit the receptacles.

How many receptacles are in that box now? Example: a double gang would have two receptacles with four "plug in" locations.

What is the breaker on that circuit? 15A, 20A or thermonuclear?

More info would really help ...

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2012, 07:28 PM  
CoconutPete
Old houses & German cars
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North CT, North CT / Denmark
Posts: 12
Default

This outlet is in my guestroom, but it's the same single gang box with one coming in and one going out as well as the outlet, so 3 sets of wires total in the box.

a4.jpg  
__________________
CoconutPete is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2012, 01:52 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,704
Liked 919 Times on 820 Posts
Likes Given: 1582

Default

Hows your math skills?
http://www.hubbellcatalog.com/raco/RACO_boxes.asp?FAM=R..

__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2012, 02:46 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Your area may use one of these editions of the NEC
https://law.resource.org/pub/us/code....nec.2011.html
http://freenec.com/T1.html

From the look of your wiring your house is very old. The insulation may crumble off in your hands and the conductors may be brittle.

__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 12-11-2012 at 07:45 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2012, 05:55 PM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,291
Liked 403 Times on 314 Posts
Likes Given: 166

Default

If this was my house, I would remove the box and install a new double gang if the circuit can support it. It is worth doing and the wall repair isn't that big a deal. Can you provide the wiring layout?

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 09:44 PM  
CoconutPete
Old houses & German cars
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North CT, North CT / Denmark
Posts: 12
Default

I think I've arrived at a different decision.

I have to refinish a piece of the floor in the spring anyway. When I'm doing that I plan on chopping the wires and pulling them both into the basement and putting them together in a junction box, eliminating this outlet from the circuit. Then I'll add another box 3' above this one and have my electrician put in a new circuit to just these 2 boxes. That way everything entertainment related is on its own circuit.

__________________
CoconutPete is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 10:26 PM  
BridgeMan
Senior Member
 
BridgeMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cottage Grove, Oregon
Posts: 738
Liked 75 Times on 67 Posts

Default

You'd be wise to have Sparky run completely new grounded wiring all the way from the service panel to the new boxes. Possibly even consider doing so to more existing circuits, especially those that have higher draws. Or go the whole hog and replace the entire service panel with a new (200 A.) one using completely new wiring and circuit breakers, instead of those pesky fuses you're always replacing now. At least around here, most home fires are electrical-related or dirty dryer vents.

__________________
BridgeMan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2012, 09:17 AM  
CoconutPete
Old houses & German cars
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North CT, North CT / Denmark
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BridgeMan View Post
You'd be wise to have Sparky run completely new grounded wiring all the way from the service panel to the new boxes. Possibly even consider doing so to more existing circuits, especially those that have higher draws. Or go the whole hog and replace the entire service panel with a new (200 A.) one using completely new wiring and circuit breakers, instead of those pesky fuses you're always replacing now. At least around here, most home fires are electrical-related or dirty dryer vents.
That is the approach I have taken with my house. All the "high draw" stuff is getting new wiring. My kitchen has been completely rewired, the outlets that window A/C units get plugged into have brand new dedicated circuits and my bathrooms are next. I'm basically trying to get it to the point where the old bx wiring supports nothing but some lamps and a cell phone charger or two. That's what finally convinced me to just bite bullet and run a new circuit here. I need to have my electrician come by at some point anyway to run wire through the conduit I laid going to my garage. I like electric stuff but i know where my limits are.


__________________
CoconutPete is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Add full time hot outlet to 3 way switch circuit? lexar Electrical and Wiring 3 01-09-2012 07:04 PM
Adding New Circuit to full breaker box vtfan99 Electrical and Wiring 6 01-26-2010 11:18 AM
Adding a new bathroom outlet DrDave Electrical and Wiring 7 01-05-2010 04:26 AM
Switched Lights in an Outlet Circuit drewje Electrical and Wiring 5 07-22-2009 12:57 AM
Additional Circuit Breaker Boxes mrissala Electrical and Wiring 4 12-09-2005 05:18 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS