DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Dealing with wire without ground




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-19-2012, 06:18 PM  
Mark_D_Haag
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default Dealing with wire without ground

Aside from rewiring the house with wire with a ground, what are the hazards of rewiring the receptacles with new ones with a ground? This will allow me to use appliances with ground connections.



__________________

Last edited by Mark_D_Haag; 12-19-2012 at 06:21 PM.
Mark_D_Haag is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 06:24 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,742
Liked 925 Times on 826 Posts
Likes Given: 1595

Default

Use a GFI plug and mark the out side "no ground". The GFI will work and protect you from getting a shock.



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 06:29 PM  
Mark_D_Haag
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw
Use a GFI plug and mark the out side "no ground". The GFI will work and protect you from getting a shock.
So are you saying start every circuit with a GFCI?
__________________
Mark_D_Haag is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 07:17 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,742
Liked 925 Times on 826 Posts
Likes Given: 1595

Default

That is the cheap way to get some safety without re-wiring.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 10:45 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 985
Liked 108 Times on 88 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

The GFCI solution is the only one that is code compliant and safe. One GFCI at the beginning of the circuit or GFCI receptacles at each point are both valid options.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2012, 10:30 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

I understood that ground wires do not have to be insulated and
I could not find anything prohibiting running ground wires from the new receptacle under quarter round, baseboards, or wherever, down to where you can find the metal inlet cold water pipe.

Does anyone have a code cite that could be interpreted in such a way as to contradict this? "Speak now, or . . ."

__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2012, 06:24 PM  
dthornton
inspector gadget
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Red Oak, IA, Iowa
Posts: 181
Liked 17 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 86

Default

Not a pro, but just my 2 cents' worth ... if your wiring is so old that it has no ground, I would think you probably would want to rewire anyway. Anyone disagree?

__________________
dthornton is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2012, 06:37 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,742
Liked 925 Times on 826 Posts
Likes Given: 1595

Default

I will dissagree. 1. House not worth spending alot but OP wants to make somewhat safe on a budget.
2. OP wants to remodel the whole house while living in and wants to make it safe while he devalopes the plan.
3. People are still finding it tough to make a living and just can't afford everything at one time.
4. Should I go on.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
dthornton Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2012, 10:05 PM  
Mark_D_Haag
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

I have read some additional articles and what I believe I understand is that a GFCI will protect you from electrocution but in the event of an electrical surge! It will not protect the electrical components?

Am I understanding this correctly?

If this is true, Is there any way to protect the equipment without rewiring? I do understand that there are surge protectors designed for ungrounded plugs but they are very expensive. Where would I find one to price out and what would I look up?

__________________
Mark_D_Haag is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2012, 11:19 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,742
Liked 925 Times on 826 Posts
Likes Given: 1595

Default

Whole house " might " get you there but then you likely need to change panel



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Ground wire question tractng Electrical and Wiring 6 02-29-2012 08:22 AM
Breaker Box Ground Wire ChollaBob Electrical and Wiring 5 10-20-2011 08:53 PM
Dealing with toxins Texas Walls and Ceilings 6 01-12-2010 05:09 PM
120v on ground wire Milwaukean Electrical and Wiring 1 12-31-2008 03:58 PM
interesting ground wire hawkestone Electrical and Wiring 10 07-23-2006 03:26 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS