DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Plumbing Forum > Low/fluctuating water pressure after power outage, pump issue??




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2013, 06:50 AM  
dmaves
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Low/fluctuating water pressure after power outage, pump issue??

We lost power at our home a week ago for about an hour, the next morning we woke up to limited water pressure. We've had this problem before, but it was caused by scale/sediment, and it would fix itself. However, this time it did not fix itself, thus a different problem this time.
I thought at first it might have been a clogged inline filter for our culligan system, checked that and cleaned it; still no go.
After this, I thought maybe it was the pressure switch, however, I can get the pressure switch to trigger by moving the lever, however, the system can't build a high enough pressure on its own to trip it. The gauge next to the pressure tank will not read higher than 30-35psi, even in the morning before any water usage.
I tried cycling the breakers and power switches, and I could hear/feel the pump shutting on and off so it is working, I'm just not sure its running at full capacity, and thus the reason for low pressure??
Another odd thing is that sometime the pressure appears to be better (not 100%) for a short period of time, then it drops down to worthless piss stream again, excuse my language.

Does anyone have any input/advice on this issue??



__________________
dmaves is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 08:20 AM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,343
Liked 404 Times on 316 Posts
Likes Given: 130

Default

Is your pump in the house or in the well? What kind of pressure tank do you have?

I had a similar problem once where my foot valve was letting water drain back over time. When the power was on if I lost some pressure to drain back it would replace it before it was a problem and I never noticed the loss. I had a shallow well with a jet pump at that time.



__________________
bud16415 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 08:48 AM  
Speedbump
Water well etc.
 
Speedbump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Riverview, Fl.
Posts: 439
Liked 23 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

I would first get rid of the cartridge in the in line filter since it serves no purpose other than to make the seller more money.

If this is a jet pump, it could have a plugged jet. If it's a submersible pump, you could have a hole in the drop pipe or the pump could have gotten hot and melted an impeller or two.

__________________
FAQ's
Speedbump is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 11:52 AM  
dmaves
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

I have a submersible pump (no pump in the house) and have a sealed diaphragm style pressure tank, one of the common blue type ones you typically see.

I find it odd that we started to witness the pressure issues after a power outage.

__________________
dmaves is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 12:14 PM  
Speedbump
Water well etc.
 
Speedbump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Riverview, Fl.
Posts: 439
Liked 23 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

I agree, it's a little odd that it is acting up after a storm. The only kind of damage a storm can do to a submersible pump is lightning getting into the motor or controls. Since it's running and making some pressure, lightning didn't get it. If it continues to run for more than a minute chances are there is nothing electrically wrong. So it's either the pump or the pipe. You could have a leak anywhere from where the pipe leaves the house near the tank all the way down to the pump.

__________________
FAQ's
Speedbump is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 12:32 PM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,343
Liked 404 Times on 316 Posts
Likes Given: 130

Default

If something was clogged upstream you would still build pressure at the pump and or tank where your gage is. You would just have a flow restriction. Seeing as how your pump is in the well that rules out loosing prime etc. The pump is coming on and running just not making pressure. If you shut the out valve for the tank and manually run the pump bypassing the pressure switch and all you can get deadheading the pump is 35PSI the problem is down in the well. Pump not making pressure or pipe leaking at connector or pipe itself, or the line between the house and well. May have not had anything to do with the power outage.

You may be able to take the cover off the well and listen down the pipe to see if you hear a leak in there or if you have a pitless adapter look for a leak there.

__________________
bud16415 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 01:13 PM  
pumpguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Make sure you have 240 volts to the pump. Half power or 115 volts can make it act that way, and could have happened during a power outage.

__________________
pumpguy is offline  
2
People Like This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 01:26 PM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,343
Liked 404 Times on 316 Posts
Likes Given: 130

Default

great point pumpguy

__________________
bud16415 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 01:53 PM  
dmaves
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

All good advice thus far; so I can just pull the cover off my well and listen for a possible leak in the down pipe?

Also, I will have to see if I there's a valve before the pressure tank and see if I can build pressure. My original thought was a clog somewhere, but seeing how I am only building 35psi MAX, it makes me think there is a separate issue.

Pumpguy, how can I test for correct voltage to the pump?

__________________
dmaves is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 02:09 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,753
Liked 927 Times on 827 Posts
Likes Given: 1596

Default

If this pump is wired for 240 volt and you loose one leg, it won't run on 120 volts unless you have far greater problems.



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Rinnai tankless water heater and a power outage rolltrain General Appliance Discussion 5 01-25-2013 07:58 PM
6 1/4 buss fuse blowing for water pump or pressure tank HELP!! chroniclivin Plumbing Forum 7 01-08-2012 04:26 PM
Partial Power Outage ianholtz Electrical and Wiring 3 09-26-2011 10:41 PM
Possible bad switch or outlet cause power outage in three rooms? Fiero2 Electrical and Wiring 4 06-01-2011 11:32 PM
Power outage, tripped GFI? naraiz Electrical and Wiring 2 12-24-2008 06:53 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS