DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > more power in attached garage




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2013, 01:37 PM  
donald73d
Member
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canaan, New York
Posts: 31
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default more power in attached garage

I need to add some additional power in my garage for 50 amp welder, 30 amp air compressor and 20 amp saw. (220V). Also additional 30 amp welders.

The cheapest way is to run a 50 amp circuit to the garage and put in an outlet. Then make some cheater cords to power the the compressor and saw. The welder can plug right in.

The most expensive way is to install a 100 sub box in the garage and install 3 circuits for the above mentioned devices.

The garage has 110V for outlets and lights.

None of these items would be left plugged in when I am not there. The air compressor has its own thermal cutout and I am not sure about the saw.

There are also some in-between choices.

Its not a long run, maybe 15'.

The welder can draw a max of 70 amps on its max setting, but doubtful I would be doing any welding at that setting.

It would not be likely two of these items would be used at once. I do have a plasma cutter that needs compressed air. I could use my other 110V compressor for that however.

Other ideas?


donald73d is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 06:46 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,348
Liked 148 Times on 126 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

So with a cheater cord, you will be running the 20 amp saw on a 50 amp circuit?


kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 08:17 PM  
firehawkmph
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 27
Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Don't be cheap about it and burn your garage or your equipment up. I put a large addition on my second garage, which already had a 100 amp subpanel in it. I put a second 100 amp subpanel in the new addition. I have a 50a tigwelder, 30a compressor, 20a lift, lights, outlets, etc. No problems at all. The materials for the electric rough in, which included 4 lengths, 75' each, of #3 copper. I spent around $800. This was the wire, box, main breaker, all the other breakers, 20a tamper proof outlets. Everything works well, I haven't tripped a single breaker, and it was inspected and passed with flying colors. Don't mess around with cheater cords and the like, you're only asking for trouble.
Mike Hawkins
firehawkmph is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 11:09 AM  
Fireguy5674
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Illinois
Posts: 184
Liked 35 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 21

Default

If you are only needing to go 15' to be able to supply the new area, to me it is a no brainer. Set a small 100 amp sub in the garage, run plugs to where you need them and be done. By the time you buy the material to make up cheater cords you will have spent half what you needed to do it correctly. You will also not be constantly swapping cords and tripping on the ones strung across the work area.
Fireguy5674 is offline  
2
People Like This 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 07:43 AM  
Chris
Guru of nothing
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
Chris's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: , Southern California
Posts: 2,255
Liked 388 Times on 288 Posts
Likes Given: 58

Default

I did what Fireguy is recommending and couldn't be happier. I actually did some trade work with my electrician so it didn't even cost me anything.
Chris is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 06:27 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 14,170
Liked 1446 Times on 1275 Posts
Likes Given: 2487

Default

If you are intent on cheating, the least I wouold do is install a small breaker box in the garage. You still couldn't run everything at the same time but you woulkd have the right size breakers for your smaller tools.


nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Eliminating Drywall Ceiling In Attached Garage shane2943 Walls and Ceilings 25 03-31-2015 07:57 PM
Insulate an un-heated attached garage? Quattro Insulation and Radiant Barriers 12 08-24-2013 12:14 AM
Building an attached deck needadvise Decks & Patios 1 04-26-2011 11:37 PM
possible leak..? -pics attached edanthony Walls and Ceilings 4 08-06-2009 04:34 PM
How is island attached to floor daniel2229 General Home Improvement Discussion 4 06-03-2008 06:58 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS