DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Splicing ductwork?




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-24-2013, 08:38 PM  
planner101
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_31788_90798
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 15
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Splicing ductwork?

Hi,

I tried doing a search for my question but no results were shown, so I tried going back a few pages and couldn't see my question asked.


The bank accepted my offer on a house I put a bid on, so the house is not in my possession... Im strictly in the planning and budgeting phase...assuming all goes as intended.

And this is for information as well as advice... in other words I do know my best bet is to call an HVAC specialist and get their advice... but would like to go into it knowing a little bit about what they are going to talk to me about.


So, in this house I was thinking of using the breakfast nook, which is near the hallway that connects the bedrooms, and turning it into a bedroom. I don't remember if there was a vent in that area or not, but assuming there isn't...

Is it insane to splice the ductwork and run it into the room? I know there is something regarding cfm(?)--don't know what that means but from context clues has to do with sq. footage and what the AC can handle--but since I'm not adding sq ft, would it be possible to splice the ductwork into the "new" room and it not effect the rest of the house?

Don't want a window unit. I'm afraid of the bill with those things.

It is a single story house... around 1,600 sq ft.


planner101 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 08:57 PM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
registry_dropdown_17830_90800
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,467
Liked 487 Times on 375 Posts
Likes Given: 202

Default

Your system may or may not have capacity to accommodate that area. The CFMs in a system are sized for the size of the rooms.

To get you started, here is a step-by-step calculator. http://www.ehow.com/how_5677999_calculate-cfm-hvac.html

Now, you need to know what your system is generating and if you have the capacity to do the job. Calculate all the loads ... add the new load. Look at your plate and check out the comparison.
ROOM.jpg  
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 09:34 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
registry_dropdown_20526_90831
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 13,164
Liked 1303 Times on 1146 Posts
Likes Given: 2199

Default

It is reasonable to think that that much air is going to that area anyway but the more you know before you call the pros the better. And welcome to the site and congrats on the new digs.
nealtw is offline  
planner101 Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
ductwork sweating TGMcCallie HVAC 2 07-21-2011 02:32 PM
Adding new ductwork. Bryantom HVAC 3 02-18-2009 06:32 PM
Ductwork txgrl74 HVAC 7 09-10-2007 11:06 AM
Ductwork Mysteries cboley4 Introductions 2 03-25-2007 10:39 PM
Linoleum flooring splicing. smfdrf Introductions 2 03-28-2006 06:18 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS