DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Walls and Ceilings > Thesis Project - Modular wall panels

Old 07-08-2014, 01:37 PM  
kendo31
Projects

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Default Thesis Project - Modular wall panels

Hello all.
I'm a graduate student exploring the feasibility and market of producing a modular wall system where the resident mounts proprietary uprights onto the wall structure providing them with the ability to apply a myriad of modules. These modules are used for shelving, hanging, storage, cabinetry, or to apply various materials and finishes. Modules would be interchangeable thus allowing people to easily add, remove, relocate items as needed.
A draft concept walkthrough is viewable from the link below:

I'd like to gauge people of expertise on their initial impressions. Any questions and comments welcome.
Thanks.

Old 07-08-2014, 02:00 PM  
havasu
on permanent vacation
HRT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Liked 121 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 35

I'm a little confused. Is this garage system what you are trying to duplicate?

Flow-Anywhere-Shelf-Starter_thumbnail-1.jpg  

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2014, 02:17 PM  
slownsteady
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 226 Times on 189 Posts
Likes Given: 278

Nice idea, but doesn't seem that revolutionary. What gets left behind when you decide to move a module someplace else? If the wall is "damaged" by the supports, then it's no different than screwing in existing items.

Old 07-08-2014, 03:10 PM  
kendo31
Projects

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

The application is for anywhere in the home. When you place a pair of uprights, it's with the intent that some form of module would always exist there. Over time, the desire to add, update, and remove components is much easier than destroying drywall. In this manner, walls and never destroyed, merely reskinned. The uprights are regarded as permanent and regular as the structural studs within the walls.