DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Hot to Ground?




Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-25-2014, 07:22 PM  
jed1954
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Default Hot to Ground?

Discovered that I have 120volts coming from running water to recept cover plate screw. My wife found it actually... was not happy..


jed1954 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 09:19 PM  
slownsteady
Administrator
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
slownsteady's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 6,455
Liked 1160 Times on 962 Posts
Likes Given: 1905

Default

Hi Jed1954. You seem to be new here. Welcome. Is there a question attached to this post?


slownsteady is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 07:05 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,502
Liked 266 Times on 227 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default

Several possible issues.
The water piping system is not grounded properly.
Something is energizing the water, possibly the electric water heater has a bad element.
The ground system on the receptacle is defective?
JoeD is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 09:01 AM  
Speedbump
Water well etc.
 
Speedbump's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Riverview, Fl.
Posts: 672
Liked 73 Times on 63 Posts
Likes Given: 45

Default

More than likely, the wall receptical is hot and the water is acting like a weak neutral.
Speedbump is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 09:30 AM  
CallMeVilla
Senior Member
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,641
Liked 590 Times on 449 Posts
Likes Given: 246

Default

Have seen this ... Water from the shower, actually ... very scary.

Old house with a ground wire attached to the cold water pipe outside at the hose bib. Painters had recently come through and disconnected it, painted, then failed to reconnect.

Sanded the connection, reconnected, problem solved.

I vote for a bad ground somewhere ... Take care of the wife!
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 11:59 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: , Western Hemisphere, N of the equator
Posts: 2,471
Liked 176 Times on 162 Posts
Likes Given: 108

Default

A woman died from this while stepping out of the shower. The husband was suspected of premeditated murder. Can't remember the details of this case. It might have been in EC&M magazine.

It might be a Phantom Voltage and so it may not be deadly but I would pursue this.
If you run any incand. bulb from the recept cover plate screw to the water and it lights, it is deadly.

How come your GFCI didn't trip?

BTW, from a GFCI protected outlet I just ran a wire from the short slot to a steady stream of water from the bathroom sink.
No trip, but the sink faucets and drain for this basin are connected with non-conductive piping. I guess this shows that a narrow flow of water is essentially electrically nonconductive over two or three feet.

But with a basin full of water, a hot wire and a ground wire in the water at opposite ends will trip the GFCI.
The resistance of a basin of water measured 25k to 75K on my DVM depending on the range, and on the 20 megohm range it measured a negative value(???). So it sounds like the resistance of water depends on the voltage across or current through it. 25k at 120v could trip a GFCI.

Found it.
http://ecmweb.com/content/case-do-it...-electrocution

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 07-26-2014 at 06:26 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 07:45 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 470
Liked 44 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 25

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CallMeVilla View Post
Have seen this ... Water from the shower, actually ... very scary.

Old house with a ground wire attached to the cold water pipe outside at the hose bib. Painters had recently come through and disconnected it, painted, then failed to reconnect.

Sanded the connection, reconnected, problem solved.

I vote for a bad ground somewhere ... Take care of the wife!
That is masking a serious problem!
Even with the ground wire removed, or even non-existant, you SHOULD NOT have a situation like this.
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 07:47 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 470
Liked 44 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 25

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jed1954 View Post
Discovered that I have 120volts coming from running water to recept cover plate screw. My wife found it actually... was not happy..
How did you discover this?
How did you measure this?
I find it hard to believe that you actually measured a full 120V just from running water. Water itself is not nearly conductive enough.
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 10:45 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: , Western Hemisphere, N of the equator
Posts: 2,471
Liked 176 Times on 162 Posts
Likes Given: 108

Default

A long overdue experiment.

~120v in series with a ~100 ohm resistor in series with a coffee cup full of water with the wetted test clips about 3" apart at the cup brim.

There was 4vac across the resistor which means 40 mA flowed and the water had a resistance of (120-4)/0.04 = 2900 ohms.

Replacing the resistor with a person measuring 2900 ohms would give 20 mA of current, just about at the let-go point, and he or she would see about 60vac and would be in great distress.

The next test could be replacing the 120vac with a 12vac transformer. My guess is the 2900 ohms would increase so then the water would be a current-dependent resistor.

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 07-27-2014 at 10:57 AM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 10:07 AM  
jed1954
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Default

Water heater is gas.. I'm going with the recept being hot. Had some work done in bathroom in 2009 while I was away. Came home... wife said surprise!! Bathroom looks good, but now I have something to deal with... have three switches in gang box. was going to remove the 3 enough and see if one of them or possible all are screwed up..


jed1954 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Have no ground wire in romex is that why gfci tester shows 'open ground' vikasintl Electrical and Wiring 6 12-31-2015 01:59 PM
Ground load Electrical and Wiring 24 01-28-2015 08:39 PM
Ground Hornets Buterbwa Garden and Lawncare 3 09-11-2014 08:44 PM
No Ground? bnj19 Electrical and Wiring 3 02-21-2009 10:37 PM
Open Ground? DoctorPepper Garage & Workshop Forum 2 08-23-2008 09:44 PM



Newest Threads