Craftsman Garage Door Opener Adjustment Problems

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

5knives

Reaction score
Hi,

Today my Craftsman GDO Model 139.53925DS started giving me problems.

First, it wouldn't stay closed. It would close all the way and then once it hit the floor it would start to reverse. This happened a few times so I figured ok, I have to adjust the closing limits/force. But as I was pressing the remote to get the door to stop opening, it did a nice little buck and the trolley decided to come off of the screwdrive at the door side.

I released the door and I was activating the GDO and trying to get the trolley to hook up with the drive. Now, the GDO will only push the drive closed. When I press the button, whether on the remote or keypad, all the GDO will do is turn the drive as if to close the door. It will not reverse it (open). I started playing with the limit and force adjustments and sometimes it would allow the trolley to reverse halfway and other times it wouldn't allow it at all, just kept closing. Not every adjustment seems to make a difference so I need an idiots guide to figure out this adjustment. The sensors are aligned and working properly and I'm doing this without the door attached because it will only move forward and would rip the bracket from the door if I kept it attached.

Plus the GDO is overheating so I can't keep running it to figure out the problem. Hopefully someone can walk me through this.

Thanks in advance

Hi,

Today my Craftsman GDO Model 139.53925DS started giving me problems.