DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Gas Furnace Shutdown




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-31-2007, 11:39 AM  
sweets
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 38
Default

I don't know if you're joking or not cause i can't see your face but I wouldn't turn off the electric for a week or two. This is strictly for safety's sake.


sweets is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 01:18 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Sorry Sweets:
I had it in my mind that you were going for a longer stay; actually I figured another country. You are correct though; the electricity needs to stay on and police even recommend timers on some lights in the house to make it look occupied.
Glenn


glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 07:33 PM  
sweets
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 38
Default

I was just posing various scenarios of going away for several days or longer. The stove & dryer have electronic pilots that don't require attention, but if I turn the boiler's & the gas water heater's pilots to the off position, do you think it would be a good idea to close the gas line outisde the house off? I'm actually thinking of putting a lock on it the way the gas company does if you don't pay your bill. And also closing the main water supply to the house off as well.
sweets is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 11:00 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Sounds like a plan to me.
Glenn
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 03:02 AM  
sweets
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 38
Default

Do you think all the individual shutoff valves to the stove, dryer, boiler & water heater should be closed as well? And that all the gas should be bled from the lines, by running each with the main gas valve closed. This way, there is no gas left in the lines. Or will this make it difficult to start up the unit again?
sweets is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 11:35 AM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Just allow the pilot lights to purge the line, restarting will be no problem at all.
Glenn


glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Gas Furnace Maintenance Icehouse HVAC 4 02-17-2012 01:32 PM
lux air furnace duane HVAC 3 01-04-2010 08:06 PM
Furnace Advice Needed gunit HVAC 3 01-10-2009 04:17 PM
Attic Furnace Causing Ice Dam HockeyGuy HVAC 3 01-26-2008 07:18 PM
Attic Furnace remodel101 HVAC 0 02-08-2007 12:20 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS