Fix Noisy Ceiling Fan?

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

editdroid

Reaction score
Hi there,

My brother's ceiling fan has been noisy for YEARS, and I was hoping someone could diagnose and recommend how we could fix it ourselves (if possible).

https://youtu.be/3t1MQpiFMpU

Thanks in advance

I'm no expert, but on a vintage ceiling fan forum, I was told that if you take the thin packing foam stuff (it's not quite styrofoam, but it's like padded plastic) and put it between the metal and the blades (either where the blades attach to the brackets or where the brackets attach to the motor) that it can reduce the noise.

Edit: The stuff I'm talking about is like the foam gasket/insulation stuff for light switches and electrical outlets. Something similar to this: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002TIHKZE/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20
But I think there are other products like that. Not sure what the least expensive option is.

Last edited by a moderator:
I think it sound like something is loose and is hitting a moving part. Taking it apart would be the trick.

I would also suggest that he be sure that the blades are clean. Over time they accumulate dust/dirt which causes them to become unbalanced and will cause the fan to wobble more.

You can also get a set like this, Fan Balancing Kit.

The other thing I would suggest that he makes sure that the blades are tight. Over time the screws holding the blades may come loose and cause a part of the blade to rub against another piece of the fan as it spins.

One more thing is to be sure that the fan is surely attached to the ceiling box. If it is not it may cause wobbling and in turn make noise.

That clanging noise I would bet is because the fan is unbalanced and it is the fan chain or light chain hitting the fan each time because of the wobble.

Thanks for the suggestions guys.