DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > stove - 50 amp White Red Black Black Conduit - 3 hot? where's green?




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2008, 09:25 PM  
sholleran
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default stove - 50 amp White Red Black Black Conduit - 3 hot? where's green?

I am remodeling my Mom's house, and my brother removed the built in oven & cook top months ago. I want to put in a 4 prong stove plug and switch ot a free standing oven/range.

The 4" outlet box has incoming white, red, 2 black, and conduit (as is throughout the home). I expected white red black green and conduit. I poped the breaker box cover off, the 2 pole breaker has 2 black wires that go into the conduit and a red, from the bus at top of the panel. I see no white going in and no green. Makes no sense to me.

Are the 2 blacks hot for the oven/range, red hot for clock etc., white common, and I need to use some bare to ground the plug off the conduit connector?

What is the correct way to wire these to the 4-prong outlet - pigtail together 1 black + red to 1 prong, black to next prong, white to final, and bare pigtail from conduit to final prong? I assume I need to test the lines, confirm they haven't substituted inappropriately?

Thanks - S



__________________

Last edited by sholleran; 01-14-2008 at 11:40 AM. Reason: bad title
sholleran is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2008, 11:37 PM  
guyod
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wind Gap, PA
Posts: 423
Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

DO NOT CONNECT BLACK AND RED TOGETHER

black and red are hot they are on 2 seperate phases which gives you 240volts.
In a standard instullation there should only be one black.
the 2 pole breaker should have a red and black going to it.
are you saying there is white on one end of the conduit and none at the panel? It dissapears?

Probably shouldnt be tackling this one on your own.


__________________
guyod is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2008, 07:39 AM  
ToolGuy
Senior Member
 
ToolGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 482
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I'm refraining from commenting on this because you're looking at possibly getting yourself electricuted, or maybe frying your cook range. I don't mean this disrespectfully or anything, but you really shold get a licensed electrician to hook that up for you. You don't know enough to be messing with 240 volts, and that wiring is somehow hacked. The white just dissapears? There's something not right about that. Do yourself a favor and hire a pro for this one small task. He'll have it done in about 1/2 hour at most, and you'll still be around to ask about carpentry and plaster and other diy stuff.

__________________

[COLOR="DarkRed"][B]~ ToolGuy ~[/B][/COLOR]

[I]Save money on tools at [URL="http://mytoolbox.net"]MyToolbox.net[/URL]
[/I]

ToolGuy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2008, 09:36 AM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,116
Liked 132 Times on 111 Posts
Likes Given: 338

Default Yup

I'm with Toolguy on this one...please post us back and tell us you are OK.

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2008, 11:36 AM  
sholleran
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default Nope, I'm dead

I'm definately mystified enough looking at this hack that unless someone had a clear explaination of why none of it looks as expected, I was planning to call an electrician, should have mentioned that.

The breaker that turns the stove off (and it does - has been for several months during remodel) has 2 BLACK running out of it into 1 inch conduit, plus a RED from the bus at the top of the panel, no sign of white... there has to be a junction between the breaker and the kitchen wall, since I can see at the kitchen end it's 3/4 conduit - bet it's a cluster f*$# of wires in there, wherever it is. I'm going to let a pro find out where that might be, done enough crawling around under the house.

thanks!

__________________
sholleran is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2008, 12:18 PM  
cheesefood
Ask me bout homebrewtalk.
 
cheesefood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 45
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Send a message via Yahoo to cheesefood
Default

+1 on calling an electrician. While single-phase is generally pretty harmful, 50 amp 2 phase will kill you and possibly start a fire on your corpse. By simply posting this question you've already pre-qualified yourself as "not an electrician".

__________________
cheesefood is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2008, 06:31 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,229
Liked 116 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

I deal w/480Volts, 100-300Amps, 3-phase all day and this one is weird enough for me to recommend someone (an electrician) come out and take a look at this for you. The red wire doesn't sound like it's code.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2008, 01:37 AM  
ToolGuy
Senior Member
 
ToolGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 482
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sholleran View Post
I'm definately mystified enough looking at this hack that unless someone had a clear explaination of why none of it looks as expected, I was planning to call an electrician, should have mentioned that.
Whew!

(stupid forum says I have to enter at least 10 characters. Is this enough??? grumble, grumble..)
__________________

[COLOR="DarkRed"][B]~ ToolGuy ~[/B][/COLOR]

[I]Save money on tools at [URL="http://mytoolbox.net"]MyToolbox.net[/URL]
[/I]

ToolGuy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2008, 06:49 AM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,116
Liked 132 Times on 111 Posts
Likes Given: 338

Default Good to hear from ya...

We"ll put that one in the archives for the next folks with funky wirin... Good to know you called an electrician, sorry to hear about how much it cost in advance.
We are ready if you have something we can help you to DIY.

Pay no attention to the grumbler....he always talks to himself.

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2008, 12:58 AM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default what you should see now

If you had an electrician come to your house, I hope he took care of you fairly. The 2 black wires are hot, The red wire should get white tape wrapped on both ends, as this is your neutral, and is only wire on neutral bar in panel on this particular arrangement, and what is white should get all plastic stripped off and be your ground, because if this wire is not in panel it is probably bonded to conduit in oven box, or goes to a plumbing pipe for a ground. good luck!



__________________
triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Gas Stove needs a new gas tube for oven anevitte General Appliance Discussion 1 03-20-2008 12:16 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS