DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Decorating and Design > Bullnose Archway help needed




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-28-2008, 02:10 AM  
NogaroS4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Default Bullnose Archway help needed

Good day to all, first post and have a question, did a little searching and did not find much with my problem. Long story short, I am replacing all my corners with bullnose and I have two archways in the house. I bought the archway bullnose, started nailing it up to find out there is no 2x4's in the arch. Just on the side and dead center up top. So, I was thinking I could possibly use some liquid nail or something similar to hold the bullnose to the wall?? I have been working on my living room for a long time and hitting this stump has put a stop to the project. Just got my car back on the road and now need to have something to do... like my living room Also, I am smoothing out the walls so the bullnose will be feathered out to be smooth with the rest of the wall... Am I going the right way? Any suggestions?


While I am here, what would be the best way to hang crown moulding on the outside corner of bullnose? Hire someone?? haha!!

Thanks, look forward to hearing your input! I will most def post pix once this room is done... it is going to be a true transformation!!



__________________
NogaroS4 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2008, 08:02 AM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Quote:
what would be the best way to hang crown moulding on the outside corner of bullnose?
I need a pic already.
Most arches in modern homes are framed up with plywood or a similar sheet material. That would make your attachment point either on the wall or about 3/4" from the wall inside the arch. It takes a screw to hold anything in the edge of plywood. Nails will fail, especially if you drive them in with a hammer. You will need to use a glue. Anything that is made to fit a curve needs all of the support and attachment it can get.


__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2008, 08:26 AM  
NogaroS4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Default

You want pics of the bullnose/crown molding area or the archway? I am about to post up here in a sec... going thru my pics right now.

__________________
NogaroS4 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2008, 08:39 AM  
NogaroS4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Default

Here is a couple pics of the archway in question... Second one shows a gap and where the hammer went into the archway...






EDIT: I believe the house was built in 1977... if that makes a difference or not on building material...

__________________

Last edited by NogaroS4; 03-28-2008 at 08:41 AM.
NogaroS4 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2008, 11:23 AM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Hello Anthony:
Nice pictures but I fail to see why you would need crown mould on the arches. I'm missing something.
Anyway, to make the crown mould fit the bull nose you could cut the corner as if there were no bullnose then whittle the back of the crown out to fit the bullnose. It may require some caulking to make it work out perfectly.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2008, 05:47 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

I have a similar situation in my home. I used 3M 77 Spray adhesive and an air stapler to mount the corner. I assume the crown is going around an outside corner of a wall? That will take some experimenting and some whittling
Opinions vary, You could run the crown right past the corner to meet square
Or
You could cut segemented miters and glue the small pieces together. I think Daryl in Nanoose has some pics of some crown he segmented around a corner. Might PM him and get a link to the pics

__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2008, 11:08 PM  
NogaroS4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glennjanie View Post
Hello Anthony:
Nice pictures but I fail to see why you would need crown mould on the arches. I'm missing something.
Anyway, to make the crown mould fit the bull nose you could cut the corner as if there were no bullnose then whittle the back of the crown out to fit the bullnose. It may require some caulking to make it work out perfectly.
Glenn
I may have not been clear and thats my fault, the archway question was about how to "nail" up the bullnose...


I had a second question which seemed to have been answered as well, how to get the crown moulding around corners with bullnose, which I did not show pictures of... sorry for the confusion. Should have made myself more clear that it was a two part question...

Thanks for the ideas!! I will try it out this weekend and report back how well it works out!! The crown moulding will wait but the archway will get tackled.
__________________
NogaroS4 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-15-2008, 11:45 AM  
NogaroS4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Default

So I bought dry wall screws for the arch... that is the ticket!! I before was using actual nails and I will never use nails again... screws are easier and faster!!



__________________
NogaroS4 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Tape & Float Help Needed SPISurfer Walls and Ceilings 8 11-30-2010 12:39 AM
Using stucco bullnose trowel? TaskBoy Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 0 01-05-2009 11:29 PM
Info Needed Shirley General Home Improvement Discussion 1 10-03-2006 11:34 AM
Material Suggestion Needed For Brick Patio TxBuilder General Home Improvement Discussion 1 07-28-2006 02:58 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS