DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > General Home Improvement Discussion > cutting a hole for an electrical outlet




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-29-2008, 11:40 AM  
daniel2229
Member
 
daniel2229's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 56
Default cutting a hole for an electrical outlet

We are rehabbing our kitchen. Our island has an electrical outlet at both ends just below the counter top. The new cabinets we are using have nice door panels that attach to the ends of the island cabinet base units. It is really dressy.

My concern is where to locate the electrical outlets on the new ends of the cabinet bases. I don't want to ruin the ends. I will have to cut through both the base and the panels, so this is kind of scary.

Anyone have experience with doing this?



__________________
daniel2229 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-29-2008, 10:28 PM  
Daryl in Nanoose
Senior Member
 
Daryl in Nanoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nanoose Bay, BC
Posts: 762
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Really not a problem, it's done all the time. Mask off the area so you don't scare the face, use a utility knife and scar the outline of the hole so you don't get blow out, drill a hole on each corner with a forester or twist drill bit( not a brad point it could give you tear out. Use a jig saw with a nice sharp blade and take your time.
To see where to locate the outlet take a piece of masking tape and fold it up a few times and stick it to a outlet face plate and try it in locations till you get just the right one. They make them out of wood now by the way.



__________________

[url]http://edhome.shawwebspace.ca/[/url]

Daryl in Nanoose is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-29-2008, 10:53 PM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default it would help if......

If you could post a couple of pictures and we could see the area you are thinking of cutting, it could help with more precise advice. Just a thought, good luck.....

__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]


Last edited by triple D; 04-30-2008 at 11:30 AM.
triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2008, 01:36 PM  
daniel2229
Member
 
daniel2229's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 56
Default

The current placement of the electrical outlet is about three inches below the countertop and three inches from the side.

Here in this photo, I guess I will have to cut the hole in the panel much lower and toward the center in order to have a flat surface for the electrical cover.

electrical-placement.jpg  
__________________
daniel2229 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2008, 05:24 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,096
Liked 125 Times on 105 Posts
Likes Given: 319

Default woops

Just make sure you have the depth of the box measured out.
With those drawers there the box will probbably hit the back.
And....that four letter word is being ignored(code) says no plugs where your goin.

When you cut, put tape over the area, mark it out and drill your 4 corners first. Then jigsaw.
Good luck.

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2008, 07:38 PM  
daniel2229
Member
 
daniel2229's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 56
Default

That is strange because we passed code the first time with the box just a few inches closer to the counter top.

My camera batteries died so I can't send photos until I get batteries.

__________________
daniel2229 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2008, 11:28 PM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default No issues

There are no code issues with what you have going. However it looks like you might want to go lower down till you get under the drawer runner. If that is a working drawer the runner will be mounted to side of cabinet. Go down till just under it. Good luck, let us know what you see.

__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2008, 11:18 PM  
Daryl in Nanoose
Senior Member
 
Daryl in Nanoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nanoose Bay, BC
Posts: 762
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

To me looking at that pic he has a raised panel 3/4" attached to the side of the cabinet 3/4" so adding this up there shouold be enogh room for a shollow box. Running the wire should be fun though.

__________________

[url]http://edhome.shawwebspace.ca/[/url]

Daryl in Nanoose is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2008, 06:53 AM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,096
Liked 125 Times on 105 Posts
Likes Given: 319

Default Yup

The codes are for 12 inches below the top on an island. I'm just sayin the kids pulling on the crock pot will wear it and anything boiling inside if the cord overhangs the area.
I have kids so I watch that stuff.

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2008, 05:24 PM  
daniel2229
Member
 
daniel2229's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 56
Default

Here is how it turned out.

I drilled large pilot holes and used my jig saw to cut out the hole. I also added felt pads to the bottom of the saw to keep from scratching the surface of the cabinet.

The electrical is attached as the old box was - metal clad wire with hold-on straps to keep it from interferring with the sliding drawers.



island-plug.jpg  
__________________
daniel2229 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
What to do? Electrical outlet above stove burner! FreeStuffRockz Electrical and Wiring 8 11-21-2008 12:43 PM
Cutting hole and adding screen to solid door? Alabaster Windows and Doors 1 08-11-2008 09:24 PM
Electrical Outlet Problem McRier Electrical and Wiring 9 07-30-2007 08:43 PM
Post Hole Diggers Square Eye General Home Improvement Discussion 3 07-10-2007 10:24 AM
cutting hole in block wall rlarkin70 Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 4 06-07-2007 06:23 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS