DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > DW & GD wiring




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-14-2008, 11:12 PM  
shan2themax
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: huntington
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to shan2themax Send a message via Yahoo to shan2themax
Default DW & GD wiring

another question while I have computer access.... I wired my dw to a gfci and from there ran wire to a switch for the GD and then the GD to the switch... no power though.... this is what i am thinking....
I understood that line out was to protect circuits downstream.... but I was readin more on here... and it talks more about other receptecles.... so... should I have had the power into the load and the switch out from line? I believe I have it the opposite way... (this is something I am checking along with the light in my other post, sometime over the next few days) I belive that line from the wall is in the line position and that I have the line to the switch in the load position with the dishwasher plugged into the gfci and the dishwasher wired to the switch......



__________________
shan2themax is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2008, 05:55 AM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Line = In from breaker
Load = Out to other devices



__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2008, 02:25 PM  
shan2themax
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: huntington
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to shan2themax Send a message via Yahoo to shan2themax
Default

I actually had it wired correctly... I moved the dw out from under the counter a little bit so that I could see the gfci and saw that it was just tripped..... so... they are both working well... (and now I have a little bit of an ego that I did it right the first time... heheheh)
see... you guys have taught me well

__________________
shan2themax is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2008, 03:07 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Way to go Shan!!!!
One little caution though, electric motors such as in your dishwasher will sometimes trip a GFCI every time they kick on.
We are proud of you.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2008, 03:23 PM  
shan2themax
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: huntington
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to shan2themax Send a message via Yahoo to shan2themax
Default

glenn... I did read that... and i would like to maybe put the receptacle where I can see it better without moving things... but I just do not want to at this point) only because I am burnt out

__________________
shan2themax is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2008, 10:17 AM  
Parrothead
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , WI
Posts: 65
Likes Given: 1

Default

Just a silly question- why do you have the dishwasher GFCI protected??? You don't need to do that. It will probably lead to a lot of nuisance tripping. The only receptacles in a kitchen that are required by code to be GFCI protected are the ones serving the countertops.

__________________
Parrothead is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2008, 09:42 PM  
shan2themax
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: huntington
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to shan2themax Send a message via Yahoo to shan2themax
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Parrothead View Post
Just a silly question- why do you have the dishwasher GFCI protected??? You don't need to do that. It will probably lead to a lot of nuisance tripping. The only receptacles in a kitchen that are required by code to be GFCI protected are the ones serving the countertops.
Because it is near where water comes in for the dw and makes me feel more secure......... (and pretty much where I live not much code exists.....)
__________________
shan2themax is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-18-2008, 10:09 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 984
Liked 107 Times on 87 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Put in a GFCI breaker instead or find another receptcle closer to the breaker and easier to check and reset. Who wants to be pulling out the dishwasher to check a GFCI.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring my home for Cable (Dish) & Cat 5 cheesefood Electrical and Wiring 9 01-28-2008 08:49 PM
Two questions regarding outlet wiring Pastey Electrical and Wiring 5 04-14-2007 01:00 PM
Garage Wiring Imacarguytoo Electrical and Wiring 3 12-29-2006 05:34 AM
Is existing microwave and oven wiring safe? ctraut Electrical and Wiring 6 11-15-2006 12:53 PM
knob and tube wiring info wanted. wienerwater Electrical and Wiring 3 09-30-2006 10:04 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS