DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Electrical Service Capacity




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-18-2006, 12:33 PM  
Gary Allhiser
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Default Electrical Service Capacity

I have recently bought my first older home, which has only 100 amp electrical service. As I plan my remodeling, one of the first projects is the kitchen. I am debating whether I should replace the electric range in the house with a gas one. The house has central a/c, two refrigerators, a microwave, and an electric dryer, but has gas a hot water heater and furnace.

The former owner said he never had a problem with circuit breakers tripping, but I am concerned that 100 amp service is rather skimpy with a modern electric range that has five cooktop elements and a self-cleaning oven, when added to the other major electrical appliances in the house.

Opinions? I would prefer not to upgrade the electrical service unless absolutely necessary.



__________________
Gary Allhiser is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2006, 02:11 PM  
pqglen
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 37
Default

100 amps seems low for your current set up. Central AC alone takes 30 or 40 amps another 20 for the dryer 30 for the stove were adding up awfully quick here. I would suggest you upgrade to a 200 amp modern panel no matter what. Houses dont fall down they burn down. It might be the best investment you can make for your home. However if you dont mind living on the edge......the key is that it is causing no problems now so I think you would be fine replacing electric with electric as the amp requirements between then and now are not all that great, and stoves are allmost always (or should be ) on their own breaker. I however would contact a couple of electricians and they will confirm what I am saying. Upgrade your panel

pqglen

__________________
pqglen is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
do 150 amp service panel exist? turfgrass Electrical and Wiring 10 07-23-2011 08:36 AM
What to do? Electrical outlet above stove burner! FreeStuffRockz Electrical and Wiring 8 11-21-2008 12:43 PM
cutting a hole for an electrical outlet daniel2229 General Home Improvement Discussion 9 07-22-2008 05:24 PM
Service/breaker panel capacity question... tenderton Electrical and Wiring 1 10-13-2006 06:08 AM
Overheated Wiring & Electrical Surges bpaxt@netzero.net Electrical and Wiring 4 07-11-2006 09:34 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS