DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Installing outlets.

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-15-2008, 12:19 PM  
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 20
Default Installing outlets.

Please forgive my lack of terminology here. I'll try to explain the best I can. My electrician installed some new wiring for our kitchen. On the boxes in the middle of the run he installed some little plastic distribution block kind of things so that there are only two wires running to the outlet (plus the ground). How do I wire these middle of the run outlets? Is it just the same as wiring an outlet at the end of a run? I'll look around and try to find a picture of what I'm talking about.


Dan208 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 02:16 PM  
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,132
Liked 153 Times on 125 Posts
Likes Given: 5


Should be the same as any other receptacle. Black wire to the gold screw, white wire to the silver screw and bare or green wire to the green ground screw.

JoeD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 09:16 PM  
Supporting Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,375
Liked 152 Times on 129 Posts
Likes Given: 71


the only thing I can imagine that your talking about would be stab-in type outlets.

we don't prefer to subscribe to such type of outlets.
rewire those outlets to the lugs and duplicate what you see for any other outlets you care to add.
kok328 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 10:36 PM  
triple D
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default yes, like any other outlet.....

What you have are the new kids on the block there. They are a alternative to a wire nut. The wires of the circuit are simply stabbed in to these, then one tail added to hook to recepticle. Treat er like any other and get er done. Good luck......
[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]
triple D is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 11:45 AM  
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5

as one senior member said it can be done but i prefer not to use them..if im reading you right junction boxes should be used..
handyman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 03:12 PM  
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 20

Yes, they are like what triple D described.

Another question. The outlets have two sets of screws. I know white/silver and black/gold but do I connect the wires to the top set, bottom set, or one to the top and one to the bottom?

Last edited by Dan208; 08-20-2008 at 03:20 PM.
Dan208 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 04:02 PM  
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie

Hello Dan:
Connect the wires to either of the screws on the same side the contacts are joined by a small tab in the middle.

glennjanie is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Open Ground Outlets xiolo Electrical and Wiring 5 10-12-2008 11:06 PM
Can I have outlets and overhead on same circuit... bvz Electrical and Wiring 6 04-25-2008 12:42 PM
Removed outlets & switches but lost power to others? Amber Electrical and Wiring 4 04-14-2008 06:15 PM
How many electrical outlets for a new kitchen? phreaq General Home Improvement Discussion 5 09-28-2007 02:09 PM
Outlets Grounded??? bobo60 Electrical and Wiring 4 03-30-2006 03:14 PM

Newest Threads