DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Roofing and Siding > Does galvanized mean electogalvanized?




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2008, 09:24 PM  
willin2try
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Default Does galvanized mean electogalvanized?

Hi, my name is Tom and this is my first time posting to this site.

I am putting cedar shakes on a guest cabin I built. I plan to use my PC stapler, and porter cable crown staples. I have read that it is not good to use electrogalvanized with cedar, as it will stain the shakes. The staples say they are galvanized, but not specifically electro. Is it safe to use them?

I'd appreciate any thoughts on this.

Thanks!



__________________
willin2try is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2008, 09:39 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

The best possible thing you could do is to buy Stainless steel staples to fit your PC staple gun.
I did a Google search (stainless staples) when I read your post and found many suppliers and reasonable prices too!



__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2008, 09:42 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Welcome Tom:
The staples will only stain the cedar if they are used in an exposed location. As long as they are covered by another shingle they will stay dry and not stain.
There are two kinds of galvanizing that I know of; electroplated and hot dipped. I would be willing to bet the staples are electroplated. Just keep them covered and dry and there will not be any problem.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2008, 10:50 PM  
willin2try
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks!

I'll use the ones I have cause most of them will be covered, but I'll go out and get some of the stainless ones for the exposed shakes. I appreciate your help.

__________________
willin2try is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Cutting galvanized steel in tight spot Gpost Plumbing Forum 7 08-28-2009 02:56 PM
Porch Roof Repair ~ Flat, Galvanized, Black 2Lloyd Roofing and Siding 9 05-03-2008 07:35 AM
Gas and Galvanized pipe tractng Plumbing Forum 1 11-11-2007 01:15 PM
Galvanized pipe question.... Streamin1972 Plumbing Forum 6 02-25-2007 11:15 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS