DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > 100 amp service in my garage




Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-01-2009, 02:58 PM  
pgcoach
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default 100 amp service in my garage

I want to put a 100 amp panel in my garage but am not sure what size wire I need to run from my house which would be about a 180 foot run with the wire.


pgcoach is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 12:22 AM  
triple D
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default try this...

Go with aluminum, it will save you a few bucks. Use a #1urd, this will be 2 #1's and a #2 neutral. Then add a #4u.s.e. to these for your ground. Also may save another buck in the long run to have these in a conduit. this would need to be a minimum of 1 1/2" sch 40. But at well over 100' Life will get much easier with 2" Good luck on things....
__________________
See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D
triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Service Question? rebuilder Electrical and Wiring 1 06-25-2013 07:56 AM
Garage Organizing Service Jim Peterson Garage & Workshop Forum 5 03-09-2010 11:47 PM
New cell service dakuda General Chit-Chat 3 05-11-2009 08:29 PM
Amp Service St. Paul Garage & Workshop Forum 1 08-26-2008 04:41 PM



Newest Threads