DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > rewiring a old house




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2009, 08:18 PM  
dtnagle
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_12759_27585
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Default rewiring a old house

I am rewiring a old house with tube and knob wiring. I ran 14/2 from the new 100amp circuit box. Going to the bedrooms upstairs for the lights. We are planning to put ceiling fans with lights in the bedrooms. How do you figure the wattage usage for that combination (not bought yet). Also is 14/2 heavy enough? One light/fan per room and one closet light x four bedrooms. Can I use one breaker for the whole upstairs? what size? 20amp?
Thanks in advance,
Dan


dtnagle is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 09:14 PM  
Blue Jay
Senior Member
 
Blue Jay's Avatar
registry_dropdown_6836_27587
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: La Rue, Ohio
Posts: 259
Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 21

Default

14 ga wire is 15 amp max. I would run 2 circuits min. and put room lights on one and closet on the other. That way you could still have some light in the room with one breaker off.


Blue Jay is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 01:54 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
registry_dropdown_4883_27602
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,313
Liked 144 Times on 122 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

Make sure you purchase the correct type of 15A breaker. They have to be GFIC breakers.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 05:32 PM  
dtnagle
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_12759_27611
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
Make sure you purchase the correct type of 15A breaker. They have to be GFIC breakers.
Ok call me stupid, but why have GFI's on the lights. Or should I use the same circiut for the outlets?
dtnagle is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 05:39 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
registry_dropdown_4883_27613
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,313
Liked 144 Times on 122 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

Good point but, that's what code says you have to do. It's not so much that it's just lights or just outlets but, the fact that this in a bedroom.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 11:34 PM  
triple D
Senior Member
registry_dropdown_5501_27617
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default arc fault!

what he means is arc fault. All bedrooms need a combination type arc fault circuit breaker. These do not come in peanut or tandem style, so check your panel, and make sure theres room. Use two 15amp. circuits. Put two rooms, and maybe a hallway or closet, on one. And the other two rooms, and maybe some bathroom lights on the other. Follow speedy petey's load calculating methods, and you will have her licked...Good luck
__________________
[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]
triple D is offline  
CallMeVilla Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 07:02 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
registry_dropdown_4883_27621
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,313
Liked 144 Times on 122 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

Thanks TripleD, I knew I had the wrong type of breaker but, all that came to mind was Arc-Flash, which didn't make sense.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 05:45 PM  
dtnagle
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_12759_27643
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by triple D View Post
what he means is arc fault. All bedrooms need a combination type arc fault circuit breaker. These do not come in peanut or tandem style, so check your panel, and make sure theres room. Use two 15amp. circuits. Put two rooms, and maybe a hallway or closet, on one. And the other two rooms, and maybe some bathroom lights on the other. Follow speedy petey's load calculating methods, and you will have her licked...Good luck
OK I feel stupid, I did a search for speedy petey's and U can't find nothing. So what is Speedy Petey's calc methods? Also while I'm being stupid, what does this mean "combination type arc fault circuit breaker. These do not come in peanut or tandem style"LIST][/LIST]
sorry
dtnagle is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 09:11 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
registry_dropdown_4883_27650
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,313
Liked 144 Times on 122 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

In a nutshell, what's being said is:
1. The Arc Fault breakers are required, they are expensive and they only come one breaker circuit per space on you breaker box.
2. Use 15amp breakers with 14/2 wire.
3. Install GFIC outlets where applicable.
4. Don't load up more than 12 amps on a 15 amp breaker.
5. Load formulas
(Watts / Volts = Amps).
Example: (1440 Watts / 120 Volts = 12 Amps).

(Amps * Volts = Watts).
Example: (12 Amps * 120 Volts = 1440Watts).
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 11:41 PM  
triple D
Senior Member
registry_dropdown_5501_27652
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default oops!

I got this one mixed up with another, I thought peety was here. Anyway we got er licked. Just look at the name brand of your panel, then buy two 15 amp arc fault circuit breakers. Count up all the lights and figure about 800-900 watts of light, and the rest of that circuit will be for the plugs in two rooms. Do the same for the other circuit, and your good to go. All of everything in a bedroom must be arc fault, lights, plugs, closets, and smoke detectors. Only heaters are excluded from this requirement. Try to make both circuits even in lighting loads. Good luck, were all here if you need more...


__________________
[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]
triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
BX rewiring questions Bowfin47 Electrical and Wiring 2 10-29-2008 06:28 PM
Patio roof to house attachment question mobilemike Roofing and Siding 2 09-23-2008 07:31 AM
New foundation, old house Begreen Framing and Foundation 46 08-05-2007 12:19 PM
House On Slab Leaks NIGHTMARE Extrinsicdin Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 2 03-16-2007 04:07 PM
Leaking house on slab NIGHTMARE Extrinsicdin Framing and Foundation 2 03-16-2007 12:04 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS