DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Old house(70yo) Increasing 2nd fl electrical




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-21-2009, 08:34 PM  
wfaherty
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Default Old house(70yo) Increasing 2nd fl electrical

Question: Is it possible to run conduit from a basement up a outside wall (anchored) to a second floor bedroom to run new circuits for bedroom outlets using wiremold???
If it is possible what type/size conduit(EMT or PVC???)/wire(Regular TTH or Romex ??) cabling would meet building codes(PA)??

I plan to run 2 20a circuits,1 for a window ac
I know that I need arc flash breakers 20a($40) for the bedroom circuits in the main electrical panel.


wfaherty is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 04:32 AM  
locknut
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 75
Default

I have seen this sort of installation in commercial settings, in metalic and plastic. I don't think the code permits Romex in the conduit. I'd refer to the code book on that one. I'm thinking you'd need 1-inch minimum conduit for that much wire. Don't see any problem with Wiremold.



Last edited by locknut; 04-22-2009 at 04:39 AM.
locknut is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 08:04 AM  
DaveyDIY
Extreme DIY Homeowner
 
DaveyDIY's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 82
Default

Just check & make sure that wiremold is rated for outdoor use
DaveyDIY is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 08:52 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,349
Liked 148 Times on 126 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

I assumed that the wiremold was for once he got into the second story. I don't think I've seen wiremold intended for outdoor use.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 04:48 AM  
locknut
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 75
Default

Ditto on the wiremold. I understood that the interior wiring will be run through appropriate wiremold.
locknut is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 08:29 AM  
DominicDavis
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Default

check the wires first


DominicDavis is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
In need of electrical help spmiller Electrical and Wiring 2 04-04-2008 06:54 PM
increasing air flow to attic room aycia HVAC 1 07-01-2007 09:17 AM
Electrical questions Outbacker Electrical and Wiring 2 06-17-2006 09:31 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS