Pella or Provia

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pete1482

Reaction score
I will be replacing an old wooden entry door with a new fiberglass one. I have done a bit of research online and all of the information that I can find focuses on wood vs. steel vs. fiberglass. I can not find anything on specific manufacturers.

Currently I am deciding between a Provia or a Pella. The Provia would be installed by an contractor that I have used in the past and have been satisfied with. The Pella would be installed by a Pella contractor (they told me its not a subcontractor, our local office has their own crew). I've never used them before although they have good review on Angie's List for window installation (nothing on door installation).

The Provia door is going to be about $1000 higher than the Pella.

My question is does anyone have an opinion on either of these 2 door manufacturers? I've never heard of Provia but was told they are "top of the line" (by the sales guy). For entry doors could there be enough of a difference to justify an extra $1000? This is just a fiberglass door with 1decorative window, no sidelights or transform.

I also realize that the door you select doesn't matter if it not installed properly.

Any thoughts or information that you could share would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Pete

I would never, under any circumstances that I can think of off the top of my head, be able to justify spending $1000 more if the doors are comparable. I know Pella has a good reputation for quality materials. I'm sure their installation would depend on which installer is doing the job, but as long as they guarantee satisfaction, I wouldn't be hesitant about letting them do it.