DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > York attic thru the wall a/c




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-17-2009, 02:55 PM  
justt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default York attic thru the wall a/c

looking for some suggestions. unit has a double shafted motor whitch is going off on internal thermal overload. this is a new manufactures suggested replacement motor. amps,rpm's, and voltage are identical to orginal motor, cleaned both coils using coil cleaner, checed rotation and voltage. have tried all i can think of. help!!



__________________
justt is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2009, 09:12 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,230
Liked 116 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

Motor for the condensor or evaporator?



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2009, 05:37 AM  
justt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default

double shaft motor-old unit

__________________
justt is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2009, 08:43 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,230
Liked 116 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

Motor for the condensor or evaporator?
Did you change the fan blade too?
The new motor might be bad.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2009, 07:33 PM  
justt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default

did not change blade for condensor-evaporator is a sqiurrel cage. this is the 2nd motor-(after thinking i had elimated all other possibllities i came to the same conclusion). i am working behind a another mechanic-motor was replaced previously. i am attempting to acquire schematics and specs for this unit.

__________________
justt is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2009, 09:30 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,230
Liked 116 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

For clarification, the condensor motor is a separate motor from the evaporator coil motor.
The motor you have now described is in the air handler section of your system.
Even if the motor has been replaced once already, the specs on the second motor seemed to work for awhile but, as you indicated, if you can get the specs for the OEM motor, you may find the cause for repeated replacements. The motor itself may not be bad but, the thermal overload switch might be bad/weak. Your other option is to up the HP on your next motor, probably by a 1/8hp or so. Any larger and you'll be looking at increased amperage.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2009, 10:07 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

He said it was a double shaft motor in a through the wall unit. You know, one shaft has the evaporator fan on it and the shaft on the other end has the condenser fan on it.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-20-2009, 07:25 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,230
Liked 116 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

Oh, now I know what he's talking about, sometimes you have to drop a ton of bricks on me before I get it. I've actually installed a couple of these in my time and don't know why it didn't occur to me. However, these are what I call packaged units and never really opened one up or paid much attention to the internals. Typically when these go bad, there at the point where it's just a total replacement. Thanks for the wake up call.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
York Stellar Plus flame won't say lit for more than a second frank_mccormick HVAC 4 01-24-2013 10:24 PM
Freon copper in the wall and condensation pump in the attic Meldy HVAC 2 08-19-2009 07:57 PM
York Stellar Plus won’t ignite rodge HVAC 24 01-11-2009 05:36 AM
Bill From Upstate New York streeterw Introductions 0 04-20-2007 08:06 AM
york heatpump margy HVAC 6 06-06-2006 11:34 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS