DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > General Discussion > General Chit-Chat > TV has it's own mind...




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-24-2009, 01:07 PM  
handy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default TV has it's own mind...

This is getting frustrating. We have a 42" Samsung LCD flatscreen TV that's not quite a year old. From time to time the darn thing will just simply change the channel all by itself. Last night we're trying to watch a show and suddenly the thing zipped up two or three channels, just like someone used the remote, but the remote was sitting on the couch between my wife and I. Changed the channel back and about 5 minutes later it did it again. Think it did that three or four times.

Anyone have any ideas what could cause this? What actually changes the channel in the TV anyway? Sure is a pain in the neck, and no, I don't really believe in ghosts...LOL



__________________
handy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2009, 03:06 PM  
Billvila
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 50
Default

Ghost or some other type of invisible man. Do your neighbors have the same TV. You could be receiving interference from them.



__________________
Billvila is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2009, 04:34 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,116
Liked 132 Times on 111 Posts
Likes Given: 338

Default or

Sounds like your neighbors are gettin free cable....or you are.
I would call the manufacturer, see if it is a recall.

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2009, 05:15 PM  
oldognewtrick
Moderator
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
oldognewtrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,865
Liked 510 Times on 424 Posts
Likes Given: 150

Default

That reminds me of when we bought our last new car, it had the channel changer for the radio on the steering wheel. Well the first ride that we took together when we stopped at a stop light I pushed the button to change stations and I thought she was going to freak out because the stations were changing by them selves. "We have to take this thing back RIGHT NOW" Needless to say I had a little more fun (at her expense I might add) till she figured out what I was up to. Oh well another night on the couch.

Handy, do you think you could be getting interference from someone else's remote? Just a thought.

__________________
oldognewtrick is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2009, 06:57 PM  
handy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I don't know what the typical range is of a TV remote, but my closest neighbor is across the street. Also, my TV is in a corner of the room which places the back of the TV towards all neighbors and both walls of the corner are concrete block, if that would matter. I'm guessing it about has to be some kind of interference, but haven't got a clue as to the source. Makes it difficult to try to prevent it from happening.

Quite the curious situation...

__________________
handy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2009, 09:43 PM  
Nestor_Kelebay
Emperor Penguin
 
Nestor_Kelebay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,844
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I would check to see if any of your neighbors is using their garage door opener when your TV goes nutz.

Maybe contact the manufacturer. There should be some way to change the frequency of your TV and remote and that will hopefully prevent interference with whatever is causing the problem now.

__________________
Nestor_Kelebay is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2009, 11:28 AM  
Billvila
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by handy View Post
I don't know what the typical range is of a TV remote, but my closest neighbor is across the street. Also, my TV is in a corner of the room which places the back of the TV towards all neighbors and both walls of the corner are concrete block, if that would matter. I'm guessing it about has to be some kind of interference, but haven't got a clue as to the source. Makes it difficult to try to prevent it from happening.

Quite the curious situation...
I had a neighbor that had the same garage door opener that I had. Every time they hit there button or I hit mine it would open the others. I ended up getting a hold of the factory and they changed my signal.
__________________
Billvila is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2009, 12:02 PM  
handyguys
Senior Member
 
handyguys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 815
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via Skype™ to handyguys
Default

OK, I will bite. If the remote is infrared (meaning you need to point it at the TV) and not RF (meaning it can be used in the next room) then I doubt you are getting interference.

Some Satellite TV tuners use RF remotes (Dish Network, etc)

If its not RF and the manufacturer doesn't have a known issues. I would suspect a bad remote. The contacts can become corroded or worn. My guess is this would never happen if the remote were in a drawer. The usually symptom is button presses not working but I have also seen buttons doing the wrong thing or double presses. If this happens with a regular frequency try hiding the remote ad see if it happens. If it doesnt a new remote may be called for.

If you are adventuresome, you could try taking the remote apart and cleaning the contacts under the buttons with a pencil eraser.

Good luck

__________________

The Handyguys Podcast [url]http://www.handyguyspodcast.com[/url]

handyguys is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-01-2009, 03:13 PM  
Huh?
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 28
Default

I wouldn't do that it'll void the warranty if there is one then your in even more of a mess. Just contact the manufacturer and have them help you.



__________________
Huh? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Don't mind me... Freshmeat Introductions 0 01-03-2007 01:11 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS