DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > york HVAC blower not working




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-18-2006, 08:59 PM  
beaven
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
Default york HVAC blower not working

Hi,
Our York HVAC (7yrs old) does not switch on. Thermostat and blower switch are on but blower won't turn on. Checked the power to the unit and it is ok.
How do I reset / jump start the blower?

Please advise.
Thanks



__________________
beaven is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2006, 09:12 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,116
Liked 132 Times on 111 Posts
Likes Given: 338

Default Try

Try browsing through the hvac section someone already posted this problem...I think



__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2006, 10:33 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

I've been browsing and I find nothing that would help.

Trace the wire back from the blower and see if there is power on the line (input) side of the contactor. Then check for power on the control power wire. If the problem is with the contactor, there will be voltage on both the line side and the control wire, nothing on the load (blower) side.

Some contactors have a button or a center piece that when you push it down, it closes the contacts manually. Not all contactors have this feature and if the contactor has burned out, the blower will still not work. If the control coil has burned out, the blower should come on.

From there, I'm not confident enough to tell you to try anything else.

__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-20-2006, 11:48 AM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Hello Beaven:
I have never seen a blower motor with a reset on it but I have had to change a lot of blower motors out. They seem to be short lived in some cases and long lived in others. Check it like Square Eye said and then look into a new motor.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-20-2006, 10:18 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,116
Liked 132 Times on 111 Posts
Likes Given: 338

Default Cover?

Is the cover in place and fastened when you are checking this?
Is that what you mean by the blower switch?
When you remove the cover plate look at the switch itself. Could be broken.

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2006, 07:08 PM  
beaven
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
Default

yes the cover switch(the interlock) is in place and tests fine.. We still have to test as suggested by Square guy and then I'll let you know. Thanks.

__________________
beaven is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2006, 07:47 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Hey Beaven! I just had another thought (they sneak up on me sometimes); see if your blower will turn easily by hand. If it won't the motor is definitely burned out.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-14-2006, 08:24 PM  
beaven
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
Default hvac fixed

Hi All,
We could not figure this out.. and had to call the york representative. He figure out the problem in 10 seconds. The problem was that there was an additional inline fuse which we were not aware of that had blown.... because the mice were chewing up the wires from the unit on the outside....
Thanks for all your prompt ideas and repllies!

__________________
beaven is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-14-2006, 08:24 PM  
beaven
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
Default hvac fixed

Hi All,
We could not figure this out.. and had to call the york representative. He figured out the problem in 10 seconds. The problem was that there was an additional inline fuse which we were not aware of that had blown.... because the mice were chewing up the wires from the unit on the outside....
Thanks for all your prompt ideas and repllies!

__________________
beaven is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-14-2006, 08:25 PM  
beaven
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
Default hvac fixed

Hi All,
We could not figure this out.. and had to call the york representative. He figured out the problem in 10 seconds. The problem was that there was an additional inline fuse which we were not aware of that had blown.... because the mice were chewing up the wires from the unit on the outside....
Thanks for all your prompt ideas and repllies!



__________________
beaven is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
York Stellar Plus NG furnace wont' stay running-HELP johnceberhardt HVAC 24 07-03-2012 06:18 AM
variable speed motor on york heater is defective d-a-v-e HVAC 21 03-21-2012 03:44 PM
Blower motor is... blown Alcaeus HVAC 3 11-01-2008 11:12 PM
A/C Question: Just replaced Fan Control Unit and now the Blower false starts cooling redmachodevil HVAC 0 08-10-2008 11:14 AM
how do I wire an inline fan to the hvac blower tomate10 HVAC 1 06-02-2008 11:49 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS