DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > How to connect fire sprinklers to dsc Alexor alarm?




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2010, 03:05 PM  
Anthony51
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Default How to connect fire sprinklers to dsc Alexor alarm?

I have recently ordered dsc alexor alarm and will be installing it soon. My house is equipment with fire sprinkler all over the house. Any suggestion on how I possible can connect my fire sprinklers to the alarm system? I plan on changing one of my smoke detectors for wireless one so i can connect it to the alarm system but can't figure out how to do it for the fire sprinklers

Thank you for any suggestion.



__________________

[URL=http://www.getridofvaginalodor.com] women health [/URL]

Anthony51 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-30-2010, 03:22 PM  
oldognewtrick
Moderator
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
oldognewtrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,885
Liked 511 Times on 425 Posts
Likes Given: 150

Default

Anthony, I think your question would be better directed to the alarm company. They should know the proper method to make connections to their products.

And welcome to House Repair Talk.



__________________
oldognewtrick is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2010, 05:23 AM  
Cork-Guy
Cork Flooring Pros
 
Cork-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
Default

How much of a deduction do you get on homeowners insurance with a sprinkler system in your house?

__________________

[B][URL="http://www.corkflooringpros.com"]Cork Flooring[/URL][/B] - [B][URL="http://www.ventless-fireplace.org"]Ventless Fireplace[/URL][/B]

Cork-Guy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2013, 11:56 AM  
isola96
Senior Member
 
isola96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lagrangeville, New York
Posts: 437
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cork-Guy
How much of a deduction do you get on homeowners insurance with a sprinkler system in your house?
Not enough to make it worth the money to spend for one. It's not to save your home it's to help save lives.
__________________
isola96 is offline  
Austin Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2013, 01:16 PM  
Admin
Administrator
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
Admin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,095
Liked 54 Times on 47 Posts
Likes Given: 205

Default

Which seems like it would make the expense worth it.

Admin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2013, 08:18 PM  
Fireguy5674
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Illinois
Posts: 182
Liked 35 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

I was a firefighter for 20+ years. The comercial sprinkler systems were tied to the alarm systems by a flow switch in the riser pipe. If you do not have a switch which tells the system water is flowing the alarm system will have no way of knowing the sprinkler system is activated. As suggested, I would talk to the fire alarm system people as I am sure they should have something similar that could be installed and wired in to activate your alarm system in case of water flow. It is also good from the standpoint of having something that would alert you in the event of unintentional water flow from a system failure.

__________________
Fireguy5674 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2013, 11:15 PM  
Chris
Guru of nothing
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,625
Liked 193 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 32

Default

I install the outside of the building (the underground up to the riser) systems for a living, when we do we put a tamper switch on the Detector Check/RP Device and one on the PIV if you have those, otherwise there will be a flow switch in the riser pipe to send the signal to the alarm box. Do you have any of those?

__________________
Chris is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2013, 06:03 AM  
isola96
Senior Member
 
isola96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lagrangeville, New York
Posts: 437
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin
Which seems like it would make the expense worth it.
Yes in that case yes it would!
__________________
isola96 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2013, 06:12 AM  
isola96
Senior Member
 
isola96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lagrangeville, New York
Posts: 437
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris
I install the outside of the building (the underground up to the riser) systems for a living, when we do we put a tamper switch on the Detector Check/RP Device and one on the PIV if you have those, otherwise there will be a flow switch in the riser pipe to send the signal to the alarm box. Do you have any of those?
Well for residential systems its usually set up for smoke detectors to go off and then sends to control box then to pressure control valve with tamper to send out the alarms. Otherwise if a head goes off from a fire then the pressure loss kicks the system on. A tamper is if some one tampers with the valve or the pressure opens the valve then activated alarms.
__________________

Last edited by isola96; 07-20-2013 at 06:24 AM.
isola96 is offline  
Chris Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2013, 07:33 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 447
Liked 39 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Funny how a SPAM post about vaginal odor is still getting views and replies more than three YEARS later.



__________________
speedy petey is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Can I temporarily connect my dishwasher in utility room while remodeling kitchen? ilyaz General Home Improvement Discussion 2 01-19-2010 08:19 AM
door alarm contacts jackster Electrical and Wiring 3 02-12-2008 06:55 AM
CO Alarm Detector Act "L" Electrical and Wiring 2 01-29-2007 02:04 PM
Sprinklers mwoodard81 General Home Improvement Discussion 1 08-04-2006 08:33 AM
Directions on plotting my sprinklers homebuiler General Home Improvement Discussion 1 07-05-2006 11:16 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS