DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > AC problem diagnosis

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-20-2010, 07:39 PM  
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Default AC problem diagnosis

I need a hand diagnosing the issue causing my AC not to turn on. My AC won't turn on but the furnace blower is running. I have a Carrier furnace and an Optima 2-s AC

I've checked that the thermostat is turned to cool and set to a low temp. I've checked all the breakers and service shut offs. The power on the furnace control board is 26VAC between COM and Y. So I have a feeling it is something within the AC unit itself.

It looks like thermostat is telling the furnace to cool so it relays the message to the air conditioner but it is not turning on. What should I check next?

Thanks in advance

mackiee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 07:48 AM  
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 168 Times on 155 Posts
Likes Given: 94


Is the outside compressor fan running?
Can you post a schematic?

Wuzzat? is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 03:28 PM  
Supporting Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,383
Liked 156 Times on 132 Posts
Likes Given: 71


Do not post a schematic, it is of very little help and somewhat redundant to a person that knows HVAC troubleshooting.
You should check to see if the 24 (26V) is present at the contactor coil in the compressor unit. Also check to see if you have 240V on the line side of the compressor contactor. If you have 240V on the line side of the contactor but, not 24V to the coil of the contactor, they you may have a stuck/bad switching relay.
Also, check to see if someone installed an add on pressure switch that needs to be manually reset.
kok328 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 02:53 PM  
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4

i'm no expert, but i had a similar problem awhile back. neither the fan nor the compressor would turn on because the capacitor was shot. replaced the capacitor for like $12 and it was good to go.
Just do it, you might save a couple thousand bucks
NitroNate is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 06:04 PM  
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2

I have a similar problem with mine and fan runs but the compressor tries starting a few seconds and quits. I am trying the capacitor replacement. I have my fingers crossed.
HardcoreNinja69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 05:10 PM  
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Default wired up new heat pump and now no power to handler

I just put in a new heat electric heat pump and now I have no power at the thermostat. I cant even get the temp reading on thermostat to work. I put existing thermostat wires to outside heat pump while I had power to the thermostat. What did I do?


khorn is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Not sure how serious a problem I have... msu2000 HVAC 1 05-06-2010 08:59 PM
Fly problem cdutoit Pest Control 7 03-24-2010 07:52 PM
gfi problem sfryklund Electrical and Wiring 4 12-20-2008 07:30 PM
AC problem carolifra HVAC 1 09-10-2007 11:45 AM
Indoor Jacuzzi Tub Diagnosis: Lightning buick8 General Home Improvement Discussion 2 07-19-2007 03:57 PM

Newest Threads