New Member Enjoying The Forum

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PJB12

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
My name is Paul and I'm a new member. Thank You for allowing me into this learning group!

My background is varied. In the early 1970's, I worked as a linesman in the "climb the pole" days while apprenticing to be an electrician. I did line work until I realized how cold it is on poles and towers in Michigan. I became a master electrician and worked mostly industrial and high voltage. I also have commercial work time. I've limited time in electrical construction work, preferring diagnostic and repair. Distribution and control systems were my forte.The company for whom I worked changed me into a construction manager for commercial building projects, mostly restaurants.

Later in my career, I was transferred to the company's sports and entertainment division as mechanical systems manager to oversee the tradespeople. We managed stadiums and auto racing venues. Eventually, I opened my own business for primarily temporary power and entertainment electrical.

At the same time I was working as an electrician, I apprenticed and became a journeyman plumber. I also earned my mechanical license, to be used for heating, primarily in hydronics, with industrial steam work included.

I am also licensed and experienced in refrigeration and climate control (Commonly called "air conditioning" or "HVAC"). My work there was commercial and industrial refrigeration, heating & cooling. Ammonia systems were part of my refrigeration experience. Large chillers, cooling towers & steam distribution were my primary "patients". House air conditioners and refrigeration were only "government" work for friends and family.