Want to install SANUS Full-Motion TV Mount on Metal Studs

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Letareus17

Reaction score
Not 100% sure this is the right forum for this, but there is no TV/Video forum and this relates primarily to putting something on the wall, potentially opening up the wall, and wall studs.

I want to install a SANUS Full-Motion TV Mount (Model SLF428-B1) for my 65" TV, but it requires wooden studs or concrete. What's the best way to make this happen? I am a total novice when it comes to TV mounting. According to my building manager, the walls in my building have metal studs that are 16" on center (which I think means they are 16" apart" and are about 2" x 3".

These are the products involved in this installation:

Mount: SANUS Preferred 37"-90" Full-Motion TV Mount
Model SLF428-B1
24.7 lbs.
https://content.syndigo.com/asset/c553df21-5189-40c0-90ce-2d80e63d2e5a/original.pdf
TV: Sony A80CK 65"
50.7 lbs.
https://www.costco.com/sony-65"-cla...rs-of-total-coverage*.product.4000187548.html
Soundbar: Sony HT-S2000 8.16 lbs.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0BWLCLZPS?ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_detail+s&th=1
Soundbar Mount: SANUS Universal Soundbar TV Mount Kit: 3.52 lbs.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09V8DW4FF?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_detail
All these products have already been purchased. I actually brought a guy over to install all this, and he told me that it requires wooden studs (not knowing anything about TV mounting, I thought one bracket was as good as another for whatever wall), and recommended that at least 2 floor to ceiling wooden beams/studs be put in behind the drywall, and that he's not able or willing to do that.