a question about milling and retreating pressure treated lumber

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LMHmedchem

Reaction score
This question could fall under many categories including carpentry, garden & lawncare, and painting. My guess was to put it here, so my apologies if that was the wrong guess.

I need to replace an old wooden trellis in my yard. I have looked at options available from local stores and find them to be pretty pathetic and ridiculously costly for what they are. Most are something like untreated 1/2" square stock that has been stapled together ("together" being a reasonable close description of the joints). I'm not going to pay $40-$50 per panel for something like that when I need 2 panels.

I decided to make a trellis instead. I am a good carpenter with the necessary tools so that part is not a problem, through I am always grateful for advice given an any area.

My question is about the materials I am going to use. I thought I would use ground contact pressure treated lumber, but that only seems to come in framing dimensions (2"x8", 2"x10", etc), which is understandable. I can get a couple of 2"x8" planks and mill them down to what I need and that would be cost effective. The issue is that I believe that after milling, most of the exposed surface will no longer be pressure treated. That more of less defeats the purpose of using pressure treated. I could paint the exposed surfaces with an copper naphthenate end cut treatment, but maybe I should just use regular #2 pine, treat it with copper naphthenate, and skip the pressure treated altogether. Allot of this depends on how well the pressure treatment penetrates the wood, which I don't know off hand.

I suspect that I am not the only person with a question like this so I thought I would post and ask for advice.

Thanks for taking the time to read,

LMHmedchem