Attempting to install 5.5" facia on 2X4 backing board

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ragman

Reaction score
Hello All.

Newbie here attemping something Ive never tried. My house was built in 1970 - raised ranch. Gutters are falling off the house because the facsia is rotted.
Started on back of house - removed 43' span of gutter and removed the old fascia and soffit. The fascia I removed is some kind of MDF - comes off like pressed cardboard.
It was about 5.5inches wide with a small slot in the bottom to support the soffit which was liek 1/4 plywood.. None of this can be saved - its all garbage.
I bought some primed pine 5.5 inch wide boards along with some f channel and some vinyl soffit.

The problem I have is that the fascia backing board is a 2X4. I can install my F channel on the house but I have nothing to tack the outside of the soffit to. Way I figure I only have a couple options, Either tack a small strip of wood to the bottom of the 2x4 backing board so my soffit has something to tack into, or I tack a small strip onto the back of my 5.5 inch fascia board and tack the 5.5 to the 2X4 backing board and the soffit to the strip on the back of the facia.

I hope I explained this well enough for someone to understand, Im not as savvy with the lingo as most. again this is my first try at something like this.

If anyone knows any better way to do this, please let me know. Not looking forward to either of my options. I tried to draw a pic of what I have.. The yellow highlight is where I would need to tack the outside of the soffit.

Soffit.JPG

tack F-channel to the backside of the fascia board.

tack F-channel to the backside of the fascia board.