thru the wall AC

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

robfnk

Reaction score
I have a thru the wall AC unit which no companies will service hence DIY I am a licensed electrician and worked on larger units many years ago. My unit is blowing cool air but not cool enough. The unit uses 410A refrigerant it calls for a low psig of 300 and a high psig of 500. These are terms I'm not familiar with. With the unit running the refrigerant reads about 120psi. But the compressor is only drawing about 1/2 it's rated amps. The coils are all clean as is the filter. Blower fans are running fine. The line coming off the compressor is cold just not cold enough. Can anyone tell me what to check or why the capacitor would not be drawing full amps.

Welcome.
In your quest for service have any of those contacted, suggested you remove the internal unit and bring it to them, for service?

Which is the practice I'm familiar with.

not a 1 of them. I offered to bring it to a number of them but they all said they would not work on one.

Sorry to hear that, likely do to the cost/equip of refrigerant recycling.

Sorry to hear that, likely do to the cost/equip of refrigerant recycling.
Getting that way with a lot of things. Labor cost is so high in most cases it's cheaper to throw a lot of things away then it is to fix them. A lot of times I will fix my own devices\appliances but sometimes I either can't get the parts needed or it takes weeks to get them. Warranties mean nothing anymore a lot of companies. This AC was still under warranty but Frigidaire said the companies selling on Amazon are not authorized distributors so they would not honor the warranty. But they had no problem when I registered the unit

I've found a like, although dissimilar response from RIDGID tools, IE, if home desperado fails to timely register a sale, RIDGID won't allow the tool to be warrantied.