In-wall Timer for LED bulbs

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by ccpyue, Apr 10, 2012.

  1. Apr 10, 2012 #1

    ccpyue

    ccpyue

    ccpyue

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    8
    've an In-wall 110V timer used to control 6 out-door halogen bulbs each of 35W. I recently changed all bulbs to LED which is only 3W each. Then the In-wall timer won't turn off the lights at set time. I called up the mfg, they said my LED bulbs won't have sufficient load to make the timer work, and told me to buy another type In-wall timer which cost $60-. I don't want to spend that $60- to replace the one year new timer , can I add loading to the timer to make it work. Such as by simply add a resistant to the power line before going in to the In-wall timer? or is there any other way to solve this problem? Thank you.
     
  2. Apr 10, 2012 #2

    JoeD

    JoeD

    JoeD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    273
    Put one of the old bulbs back.
     
  3. Apr 10, 2012 #3

    ccpyue

    ccpyue

    ccpyue

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    8
    one good idea, but then one of the bulb light will be different from the other 5.
     
  4. Apr 10, 2012 #4

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23,892
    Likes Received:
    3,117
  5. Apr 10, 2012 #5

    ccpyue

    ccpyue

    ccpyue

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    8
  6. Apr 10, 2012 #6

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23,892
    Likes Received:
    3,117
    I don't know if there is something like that to hard wire in.
     
  7. Apr 10, 2012 #7

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23,892
    Likes Received:
    3,117
  8. Feb 19, 2013 #8

    lesliemorris85

    lesliemorris85

    lesliemorris85

    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    [FONT=&quot]how did you solve this OP? I kinda have the same problem too…[/FONT]
     
  9. Feb 23, 2013 #9

    CallMeVilla

    CallMeVilla

    CallMeVilla

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    594
  10. Feb 25, 2013 #10

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23,892
    Likes Received:
    3,117
    I guess simple minds can think alike too. I just plugged one of these between the outlet and the timer, transformer on a plug in unit.

    xmas photocell.jpg
     
  11. Feb 25, 2013 #11

    CallMeVilla

    CallMeVilla

    CallMeVilla

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    594
    That is exactly the problem I just solved with a homeowner who had improperly installed his pedstal lights. The bulbs were 120VAC and the current was 12VDC. Putting a MECHANICAL timer on the AC supply side fixed his ON-OFF issues.

    :D
     

Share This Page