Kitchen cabinets vs hardwood floor

Discussion in 'Decorating and Design' started by emky, May 6, 2010.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
  1. May 6, 2010 #1

emky

emky

emky

Hello all, this is my first time posting so I hope I am in the right spot! ; )

We are having a home built for us and the process will begin in June, so in the meantime I am preparing all the details as far as color, style, etc. I am pretty easy when it comes to this bc I usually know exactly what I want, so it doesn't take me long to make a decision. The one thing that I am having a problem with is contrast in the kitchen between the kitchen cabinets and the hardwood floor that will be in there. I like cherry-toned wood so the cabinets will be cherry stained maple. And the floors will be a cherry-ish color too. I am not sure which to make a darker shade (the floors will be hardwood throughout the main floor). I am thinking the cabinets should be a bit darker than the floor, but I just wanted some input so hopefully someone can help me out : ) The countertops will be a black granite if that helps any. Thanks so much for any advice!

2. May 7, 2010 #2

slownsteady

slownsteady

slownsteady

Administrator Staff Member Admin Moderator

I hope you're planning to put a lot of light in that kitchen; sounds overall dark to me.

3. May 7, 2010 #3

emky

emky

emky

Yes, the walls will be a warm white tone..there will plenty of white contrast to make the cherry pop. I am sure what I am going to do is make the cabinets a bit darker than the floors so they stand out and so the floors don't drown the kitchen. I was just looking for some reassurance, that's all.

4. May 7, 2010 #4

frozenstar

frozenstar

frozenstar

Yep that sounds like a dark kitchen. Anyway, IMO, I'd simply prefer for the darker cabinets. Also, it should blend well with the wall paint.

5. May 7, 2010 #5

emky

emky

emky