15 or 20 amp GFCI receptacle?

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by SBay_ecologist, Dec 22, 2011.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating:

  1. Jun 12, 2013 #21

    Ocean_Man

    Ocean_Man

    Ocean_Man

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2

    I think he's talking about plugging into a single plug and using over 15 amps. Of course each plug can handle the 9 amps but drawing over 15 amps from a single 15 amp plug is a code violation based on 210.21B2 right? Then it doesn't matter if the internals are the same as a 20 amp receptacle or not because code states that max load on a 15 amp receptacle cannot exceed 12 amps regardless of the breaker size. And, on a 20 amp receptacle its 16 amps so we can never pull 18 amps by code.

    I never meant to imply that a GFCI has any over current protection. This conversation has nothing to do with GFCI's actually.
     
  2. Jun 12, 2013 #22

    JoeD

    JoeD

    JoeD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    310
    I think you left out one key word in your explanation, 'continuous'. The continuous load can not exceed 80% of the circuit.
     
  3. Jun 12, 2013 #23

    Ocean_Man

    Ocean_Man

    Ocean_Man

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks, that's correct.
     

Share This Page