Adding fresh air intake to existing Furnace...

Discussion in 'HVAC' started by harleysilo, Jan 25, 2007.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
  1. Jan 25, 2007 #1

    harleysilo

    harleysilo

    harleysilo

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    the matter....:confused:
     
  2. Jan 25, 2007 #2

    mudmixer

    mudmixer

    mudmixer

    Contractor

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    76
    Are you talking about a furnace or do you also have a gas water heater?

    What you do has nothing to do with a return duct. - That is a part of your air handling system. Fresh combustion air supplies are independant of the air handling system.

    It is common to duct it directly to a furnace. An alternate is to duct it into a furnaca/utility room that can be isolated from the rest of the home.
     
  3. Jan 25, 2007 #3

    harleysilo

    harleysilo

    harleysilo

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    air to condition in from outside...
     
  4. Jan 25, 2007 #4

    glennjanie

    glennjanie

    glennjanie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,990
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hey Harley:
    The incoming air could come from the attic or through the attic to a down turn in a soffit, to the return air duct and could be a 3" PVC pipe. Just make sure it has some sort of screen on it to keep sparrows, rodents and insects out.
    Glenn
     

Share This Page