Adding fresh air intake to existing Furnace...

Discussion in 'HVAC' started by harleysilo, Jan 25, 2007.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating:

  1. Jan 25, 2007 #1

    harleysilo

    harleysilo

    harleysilo

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    the matter....:confused:
     
  2. Jan 25, 2007 #2

    mudmixer

    mudmixer

    mudmixer

    Contractor

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    76
    Are you talking about a furnace or do you also have a gas water heater?

    What you do has nothing to do with a return duct. - That is a part of your air handling system. Fresh combustion air supplies are independant of the air handling system.

    It is common to duct it directly to a furnace. An alternate is to duct it into a furnaca/utility room that can be isolated from the rest of the home.
     
  3. Jan 25, 2007 #3

    harleysilo

    harleysilo

    harleysilo

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    air to condition in from outside...
     
  4. Jan 25, 2007 #4

    glennjanie

    glennjanie

    glennjanie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,990
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hey Harley:
    The incoming air could come from the attic or through the attic to a down turn in a soffit, to the return air duct and could be a 3" PVC pipe. Just make sure it has some sort of screen on it to keep sparrows, rodents and insects out.
    Glenn
     

Share This Page