Ask Doors Done Right - Answers to Questions About Your Garage Door Or Opener

Discussion in 'Garage & Workshop Forum' started by doorsdoneright, May 28, 2016.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating:

1. May 28, 2016 #1

doorsdoneright

doorsdoneright

doorsdoneright

Hi everyone,

My name is Scott. I own a garage door and opener installation and repair business in New Jersey. I have twenty seven years of experience and have some pretty extensive knowledge about all the ins and outs of installing and repairing doors and openers.

I'm new to this forum, but I am happy to help out where I can.

If you have a question, feel free to reach out. I am subscribed to this thread, so this is the best place to ask. I'll get back to you ASAP.

Scott

2. May 28, 2016 #2

havasu

havasu

havasu

Administrator Staff Member Admin Moderator

Thank you for your help Scott. I know many, like myself could sure use someone with knowledge when it comes to garage doors.

1) Your first question... I purchased my house a year ago, and it came with a new, cheap, roll up door. Do they make universal insulated interior garage door panels that I could add for soundproofing and insulation, of would I just be better off tossing this cheap door and purchasing one that already has the insulated panel?

I've seen the styrofoam panels that you cut and glue, but found that to be unsightly and seems the little styrofoam balls are always breaking off, so I want to avoid this.

3. May 28, 2016 #3
    I have a Genie, shaft drive opener that sounds like a 747 taking off. I tried lubing the shaft drive and rollers. I can disconnect the door and it moves freely. I tried using rubber washers on the mounting bracket. Is there anything I can do to lower the noise or do I hope it soon fails so I can replace it?

View attachment image.jpg

4. May 28, 2016 #4

doorsdoneright

doorsdoneright

doorsdoneright

Havasu,