Do I need a chimney liner?

Discussion in 'HVAC' started by OverMyHead, Nov 21, 2017.

  1. Nov 21, 2017 #1

    OverMyHead

    OverMyHead

    OverMyHead

    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    House built in 72. Probably the original oil furnace. I've owned since 97. Where the flue enters the chimney to the top measures 5.5 feet. It is located in the utility room(unheated) but not on the outside wall.

    I posted a question in another subforum regarding the chimney. Someone mentioned I needed a liner. I've run across info stating furnace efficiency determines the need for a liner. I don't know the model of my furnace but I assume it's a "Mid-efficiency heating system" according to the dept of energy website.

    I've attached a couple of pictures showing the broken mortar around where the flue entered the chimney. And a shot from the opening up the chimney.

    Thanks

    20171121_165118.jpg

    20171121_165047.jpg
     
  2. Nov 21, 2017 #2

    billshack

    billshack

    billshack

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    8
    You will need a liner eventually.
     
  3. Nov 22, 2017 #3

    OverMyHead

    OverMyHead

    OverMyHead

    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    Suggestions on type of liner to get for a <6' run?

    Guess I'll need a chimney cap as well. That's ok. Interested in trying my hand at some masonry.
     
  4. Nov 22, 2017 #4

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23,892
    Likes Received:
    3,117
    [ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRauuzjI-H4[/ame]
     
  5. Nov 22, 2017 #5

    Snoonyb

    Snoonyb

    Snoonyb

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    506
    There are basically 2 methods of approach.

    As mentioned, you probably eventually need a flue liner.

    You can have the chimney inspected for masonry failures which can allow exhaust gasses to leak back into the dwelling, or you can skip the inspection, install the liner and either a masonry cap or a sheetmetal cap.
     
  6. Nov 22, 2017 #6

    OverMyHead

    OverMyHead

    OverMyHead

    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks. I'll probably be looking at a rigid liner though. Only needing 6', I'd hate to have almost 20' left after the install. Might give those guys a call.

    And yeah, I'll skip the inspection. If I just do the liner, hopefully I can forget about it for quite a while.

    Also, I don't know why that brick and piece of metal spanning the opening are there. I will have to cut out at least the metal.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2017

Share This Page