Quantcast

DOOR BELL

Help Support House Repair Talk:

rbm328

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2010
Messages
52
Reaction score
9
my house is 1988. there was a door chime in our hallway and two buttons, one front one back. when I opened the bell, I saw three wires. I assume one to front, one to back bell and one to transformer. how come, when I put my meter to all three wires, it shows NO power? yes, the breaker is on. (I untied all the wires)
any ideas or thoughts?
thanks
rich
 

Snoonyb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
4,240
Reaction score
859
If the "notification" does not operate, the transformer is likely bad, and if you have an attic and a single story dwelling, the transformer may be close to the access panel, setting atop an elect. box, or in a basement , or in a closet.

Or, you may have the meter on the wrong voltage setting.
 

havasu

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Moderator
Supporting Member
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
4,254
Reaction score
224
IIRC they normally run on 18V or 20V. Mine was at the top of the closet and burnt out. A quick run to HD for $22 and I got a new one.
 

Blue Jay

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2008
Messages
308
Reaction score
28
my house is 1988. there was a door chime in our hallway and two buttons, one front one back. when I opened the bell, I saw three wires. I assume one to front, one to back bell and one to transformer. how come, when I put my meter to all three wires, it shows NO power? yes, the breaker is on. (I untied all the wires)
any ideas or thoughts?
thanks
rich
You will read NO voltage until the button is pushed.
 

rbm328

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2010
Messages
52
Reaction score
9
had an electrician come over on Saturday. of the 3 wires, one of them was showing 24v. he thought transformer must be in wall somewhere.
 

kok328

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2007
Messages
3,046
Reaction score
323
had an electrician come over on Saturday. of the 3 wires, one of them was showing 24v. he thought transformer must be in wall somewhere.
shouldn't be in the wall, that would be illegal. look between the floor joists in the basement.
 

havasu

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Moderator
Supporting Member
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
4,254
Reaction score
224
In California, I've only seen them either in the water heater closet, or like in my house, tucked on the back side of a closet.
 

geochurchi

Active Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2020
Messages
35
Reaction score
4
Location
NH
Hi, 24 VAC is high for a chime , normally around 16 VAC, is the basement ceiling exposed, if so try to locate there or up in the attic above the wall where the chime is located.
 

Jeff Handy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
816
Reaction score
279
Location
Chicago suburbs
They are often right near or attached to the main panel.
Or ganged onto a basement ceiling junction box, garage junction box, or any junction box fairly close to the chime location.
 

rbm328

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2010
Messages
52
Reaction score
9
I'm still searching! I went into the crawl space above the door bell (2 story house, roof spaces - not there. I pulled the CB panel off, thinking its somewhere in that area - NOPE! I have not checked in the crawl space yet. I'll keep all posted. Thanks
 

Jeff Handy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
816
Reaction score
279
Location
Chicago suburbs
You can always just go to a wireless door chime.
And they can play more than just ding-dong.
Christmas, birthday, classical, novelty tunes.
Big Ben chimes.
 

rbm328

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2010
Messages
52
Reaction score
9
we did.
I'm just not crazy about leaving a live wire inside the wall
 

JoeD

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,738
Reaction score
344
I would start by finding the breaker that kills the power. Then you know which circuit goes off and start looking on that circuit.
 

rbm328

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2010
Messages
52
Reaction score
9
I gave up trying to find the transformer. I know its not supposed to be buried in the wall, but...
I wire nuted the hot (20ish VDC) and electrical taped them and pushed them into a stud (actually, they drilled into a stud to run wires!
i'll look for that transformer in the future.
 
Top