Doorbell only works when common reconnected

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by drumz, Mar 22, 2018.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating:

  1. Mar 22, 2018 #1

    drumz

    drumz

    drumz

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just bought a new doorbell/chime and have all new wiring so no breaks or junctions anywhere.
    I have red wire from button going to transformer terminal and transformer lead from chime (red) going to other transformer terminal. Then I have the white wires from chime and button twisted together. The doorbell only works when I change ring modes or disconnect and reconnect white common wire where I twisted them.
    Can someone explain what's wrong? I've tried all kinds of combinations and can't get it to work.
    Thanks in advance for your time :)
     
  2. Mar 22, 2018 #2

    havasu

    havasu

    havasu

    Administrator Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,015
    Likes Received:
    108
    Obviously you have an electric door bell. I too had a similar problem until I learned it is often necessary to install a diode on the doorbell wire. I found the diode necessary at a local radio shack.
     
  3. Mar 23, 2018 #3

    drumz

    drumz

    drumz

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    I forgot to mention that it came with a diode and I have tried it with and without even changing poles and still no go. Maybe the transformer is bad even though it's new? The button also has an LED which I thought was the main function of the diode but that is not lit either.
     
  4. Mar 23, 2018 #4

    havasu

    havasu

    havasu

    Administrator Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,015
    Likes Received:
    108
    "I have red wire from button going to transformer terminal and transformer lead from chime (red) going to other transformer terminal. Then I have the white wires from chime and button twisted together."

    Something seems funny (wrong) with how this is installed. I just took my cover off my box and planned on taking a picture to help you, but since I have the Ring doorbell installed in that box, the wires are vastly different. Sorry.
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2018
  5. Mar 23, 2018 #5

    drumz

    drumz

    drumz

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey, no problem! I really appreciate your time and effort. Since Home Depletion didn't have the ex-electrician there today who quit because they don't pay enough,,, there's another guy there that knows spark I'm hoping to run into tonight when I go for some plumbing parts.
     
  6. Mar 23, 2018 #6

    havasu

    havasu

    havasu

    Administrator Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,015
    Likes Received:
    108
    I believe the red should go to the front door tab. The white goes to the common tab. Since I also just replace my transformer, here is a pic of the wires that lead from the transformer to the sound box, then the doorbell. 20180322_184449.jpg
     
  7. Mar 26, 2018 #7

    slownsteady

    slownsteady

    slownsteady

    Administrator Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6,876
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Location:
    Sussex County, NJ
    It should be a simple loop, starting and ending at the transformer. One button and one chime should be as straight forward as it gets.
     

Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Group Builder