How do I put wire in this 250V, 50A outlet?

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by farmerjohn1324, Nov 17, 2017.

  1. Nov 17, 2017 #1

    farmerjohn1324

    farmerjohn1324

    farmerjohn1324

    Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    79
    Seems obvious because the sheathings of the large wires are roughly the same color but I don't want to take a chance. Does it even matter which of the larger wires are placed where?

    1116172125a.jpg
     
  2. Nov 17, 2017 #2

    JoeD

    JoeD

    JoeD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    272
    Two hots on the outside. It doesn't matter which one on which side.
    Neutral in the center.
     
    zannej likes this.
  3. Nov 17, 2017 #3

    farmerjohn1324

    farmerjohn1324

    farmerjohn1324

    Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    79
    Okay thanks.
     
  4. Nov 17, 2017 #4

    bud16415

    bud16415

    bud16415

    Fixer Upper Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    4,652
    Likes Received:
    1,596
    What wire size (gage) is your new wire? They look a little small for 50A.
     
  5. Nov 17, 2017 #5

    farmerjohn1324

    farmerjohn1324

    farmerjohn1324

    Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    79
    I don't know. It's not new wire.

    Previously, the outlet was at the left arrow and the wire was spliced at the right arrow. I disconnected the splice and pulled the outlet out. I'm taking the wires out of the outlet and installing the outlet at the right arrow.

    XCamera-20171117_011959.jpg
     
  6. Nov 17, 2017 #6

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23,887
    Likes Received:
    3,114
    New ranges want a ground too, might be a good time to look a little harder at that wire.
     
    zannej and afjes_2016 like this.
  7. Nov 17, 2017 #7

    Snoonyb

    Snoonyb

    Snoonyb

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,893
    Likes Received:
    505
    Is this for the oven you are relocating in your kitchen remodel?
     
  8. Nov 17, 2017 #8

    farmerjohn1324

    farmerjohn1324

    farmerjohn1324

    Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    79
    Okay. Well I haven't even taken the oven out of the box.
     
    nealtw likes this.
  9. Nov 17, 2017 #9

    farmerjohn1324

    farmerjohn1324

    farmerjohn1324

    Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    79
    Yes.

    ........
     
  10. Nov 17, 2017 #10

    afjes_2016

    afjes_2016

    afjes_2016

    Established Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    143
    Do it right and safely

    You want that grounded

    50 amp circuit

    50 amp two pole breaker
    6/3 with ground - copper
    NEMA 14-50R - 3 pole 4 wire
    NEMA 14-50P - 3 pole 4 wire
     
    bud16415 likes this.
  11. Nov 17, 2017 #11

    Snoonyb

    Snoonyb

    Snoonyb

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,893
    Likes Received:
    505
    You really need to pull permits for this.
     
  12. Nov 17, 2017 #12

    Snoonyb

    Snoonyb

    Snoonyb

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,893
    Likes Received:
    505
    The OP has a kitchen remodel under the General heading.
     
  13. Nov 17, 2017 #13

    Kabris

    Kabris

    Kabris

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    42
    It should be grounded absolutely. What I find strange is that you can still buy ranges that give you the wiring diagram for a 3 wire and 4 wire setup. I don't know where it's legal anymore to wire it without ground.
     
  14. Nov 17, 2017 #14

    Snoonyb

    Snoonyb

    Snoonyb

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,893
    Likes Received:
    505
    You don't even need to take it out of the box, you can, and should have, gone to the Mfg's site and opened the installation PDF and found out the information there.

    Seldom are elec. ovens plug-in, they are predominantly hard wired.

    Another ?. Where and what is the cooktop?
     
  15. Nov 17, 2017 #15

    Kabris

    Kabris

    Kabris

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    42

    It's illegal to hard wire an electric oven or dryer nowadays, they need a means of disconnect for servicing, most practical is a cord and plug.
     
    afjes_2016 likes this.
  16. Nov 17, 2017 #16

    Snoonyb

    Snoonyb

    Snoonyb

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,893
    Likes Received:
    505
    That's what the breaker is for.

    As a for instance;

    https://www.whirlpool.com/content/d.../installation-instructions-W10351242-RevC.pdf

    https://www.whirlpool.com/content/d.../installation-instructions-W10842010-RevA.pdf

    https://www.manualslib.com/manual/191020/Whirlpool-W10346695a.html?page=6#manual

    Of the 3, only the Range, and only if it applies to local code, do they provide for a cord to be substituted for direct connect.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2017
  17. Nov 17, 2017 #17

    JoeD

    JoeD

    JoeD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    272
    It is not legal to wire a new receptacle with three wire connection. However there are thousands of homes that still have old three wire receptacles that were legally installed. The same goes for dryer receptacles.
     
  18. Nov 17, 2017 #18

    Kabris

    Kabris

    Kabris

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    42

    Must be the locality I'm in, bc inspectors won't pass any range or dryer that's hard wired.
     
  19. Nov 17, 2017 #19

    Kabris

    Kabris

    Kabris

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    42

    Yes I forgot about the ones grandfathered in.
     
  20. Nov 17, 2017 #20

    afjes_2016

    afjes_2016

    afjes_2016

    Established Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    143
    Apples and Oranges here people.

    Oven and Range cross terminology being used.

    Oven usually refers to an "oven" built in.
    Range usually refers to a "range-burners on top with oven below" free standing.

    If the OP had a receptacle prior to renovation it is safe to assume then this is a range and not a built in oven.

    FarmerJohn is this a free-standing range? I would think it is.

    Free standing range requires a plug and cord connection (means of disconnect at servicing site) for servicing safety.

    If you are relocating the receptacle it is WISE to replace the existing wire/cable etc and bring it up to code. 6/3 with ground. 2 pole 50amp breaker and NEMA 14-50R and NEMA 14-50P (range harness) of which I already stated. Do it right for safety reasons please. I think I recall you rent properties. If this is a rental unit safety would be good (Think "LIABILITY").
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2017
    nealtw and slownsteady like this.

Share This Page