How do I put wire in this 250V, 50A outlet?

Help Support House Repair Talk:

farmerjohn1324

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2016
Messages
963
Reaction score
103
Seems obvious because the sheathings of the large wires are roughly the same color but I don't want to take a chance. Does it even matter which of the larger wires are placed where?

1116172125a.jpg
 

JoeD

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,688
Reaction score
316
Two hots on the outside. It doesn't matter which one on which side.
Neutral in the center.
 

bud16415

Fixer Upper
Staff member
Admin
Moderator
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
5,559
Reaction score
1,970
Location
Erie, PA
What wire size (gage) is your new wire? They look a little small for 50A.
 

farmerjohn1324

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2016
Messages
963
Reaction score
103
What wire size (gage) is your new wire? They look a little small for 50A.
I don't know. It's not new wire.

Previously, the outlet was at the left arrow and the wire was spliced at the right arrow. I disconnected the splice and pulled the outlet out. I'm taking the wires out of the outlet and installing the outlet at the right arrow.

XCamera-20171117_011959.jpg
 

Snoonyb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
3,864
Reaction score
737
Is this for the oven you are relocating in your kitchen remodel?
 

afjes_2016

Established Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2016
Messages
395
Reaction score
178
Do it right and safely

You want that grounded

50 amp circuit

50 amp two pole breaker
6/3 with ground - copper
NEMA 14-50R - 3 pole 4 wire
NEMA 14-50P - 3 pole 4 wire
 

Snoonyb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
3,864
Reaction score
737
Do it right and safely

You want that grounded

50 amp circuit

50 amp two pole breaker
6/3 with ground - copper
NEMA 14-50R - 3 pole 4 wire
NEMA 14-50P - 3 pole 4 wire
The OP has a kitchen remodel under the General heading.
 

Kabris

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
191
Reaction score
42
It should be grounded absolutely. What I find strange is that you can still buy ranges that give you the wiring diagram for a 3 wire and 4 wire setup. I don't know where it's legal anymore to wire it without ground.
 

Snoonyb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
3,864
Reaction score
737
Okay. Well I haven't even taken the oven out of the box.
You don't even need to take it out of the box, you can, and should have, gone to the Mfg's site and opened the installation PDF and found out the information there.

Seldom are elec. ovens plug-in, they are predominantly hard wired.

Another ?. Where and what is the cooktop?
 

Kabris

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
191
Reaction score
42
You don't even need to take it out of the box, you can, and should have, gone to the Mfg's site and opened the installation PDF and found out the information there.



Seldom are elec. ovens plug-in, they are predominantly hard wired.



Another ?. Where and what is the cooktop?

It's illegal to hard wire an electric oven or dryer nowadays, they need a means of disconnect for servicing, most practical is a cord and plug.
 

Snoonyb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
3,864
Reaction score
737
It's illegal to hard wire an electric oven or dryer nowadays, they need a means of disconnect for servicing, most practical is a cord and plug.
That's what the breaker is for.

As a for instance;

https://www.whirlpool.com/content/dam/global/documents/201506/installation-instructions-W10351242-RevC.pdf

https://www.whirlpool.com/content/dam/global/documents/201603/installation-instructions-W10842010-RevA.pdf

https://www.manualslib.com/manual/191020/Whirlpool-W10346695a.html?page=6#manual

Of the 3, only the Range, and only if it applies to local code, do they provide for a cord to be substituted for direct connect.
 
Last edited:

JoeD

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,688
Reaction score
316
It should be grounded absolutely. What I find strange is that you can still buy ranges that give you the wiring diagram for a 3 wire and 4 wire setup. I don't know where it's legal anymore to wire it without ground.
It is not legal to wire a new receptacle with three wire connection. However there are thousands of homes that still have old three wire receptacles that were legally installed. The same goes for dryer receptacles.
 

Kabris

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
191
Reaction score
42

Must be the locality I'm in, bc inspectors won't pass any range or dryer that's hard wired.
 

Kabris

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
191
Reaction score
42
It is not legal to wire a new receptacle with three wire connection. However there are thousands of homes that still have old three wire receptacles that were legally installed. The same goes for dryer receptacles.

Yes I forgot about the ones grandfathered in.
 

afjes_2016

Established Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2016
Messages
395
Reaction score
178
Apples and Oranges here people.

Oven and Range cross terminology being used.

Oven usually refers to an "oven" built in.
Range usually refers to a "range-burners on top with oven below" free standing.

If the OP had a receptacle prior to renovation it is safe to assume then this is a range and not a built in oven.

FarmerJohn is this a free-standing range? I would think it is.

Free standing range requires a plug and cord connection (means of disconnect at servicing site) for servicing safety.

If you are relocating the receptacle it is WISE to replace the existing wire/cable etc and bring it up to code. 6/3 with ground. 2 pole 50amp breaker and NEMA 14-50R and NEMA 14-50P (range harness) of which I already stated. Do it right for safety reasons please. I think I recall you rent properties. If this is a rental unit safety would be good (Think "LIABILITY").
 
Last edited:
2

Latest posts

Top