how to connect zone valve to thermostat and transistor ?

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by acproblem, Jan 4, 2012.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
  1. Jan 4, 2012 #1

    acproblem

    acproblem

    acproblem

    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a problem to connect the thermostat/transistor wires to upper part of the zone valve (the picture with a red circle). I needed to replace the valve as it was leaking water. Now the new valve is on and the new cap is on ..however the wires are still dangling there ;-))
    There is one wire coming from transistor - red wire
    There are 3 wires coming from termostat (red, black and white). My termostat is heat only (I am heating running hot water in baseboards) so I am not sure the black wire is to be used. Can somebody pls let me know which screw of the valve cap I shall connect the wires to?. Maintenance guy told me if I do it wrong .. I might fry some part in new valve cap or termostat. Thanks a lot for your help

    IMG_20120101_144131.jpg

    IMG_20120102_113538.jpg

    IMG_20120101_144043v.jpg
     
  2. Jan 4, 2012 #2

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    You only need the one from the transformer and two from the stat, as long as that zone valve is spring loaded return. I can't see the letters on the valve, can you tell me what they are? Paul
     
  3. Jan 4, 2012 #3

    acproblem

    acproblem

    acproblem

    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    it is a Taco 571-2
    <-- (one way)
     
  4. Jan 4, 2012 #4

    acproblem

    acproblem

    acproblem

    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am adding the wiring instructions...there are 2 t-formers though ...2 zones ?

    untitled.jpg
     
  5. Jan 4, 2012 #5

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Did they use all the wires before? Look at you stat and which wires are tied in there? Paul
     
  6. Jan 4, 2012 #6

    acproblem

    acproblem

    acproblem

    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do not think so the black was used at all - it is heat only thermostat. I have put new thermostat. I also think 1 wire from transistor is missing...normally tranasistor should have 2 wires correct ?
     
  7. Jan 4, 2012 #7

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    If it is red and white going to stat, put red from transformer to post 2 on the zone head, put red from stat to the other post of the transformer, put white from stat on post one of the zone head.
     
  8. Jan 5, 2012 #8

    acproblem

    acproblem

    acproblem

    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks. so I shall connect the following way ?

    IMG_20120104_220257.jpg
     
  9. Jan 5, 2012 #9

    JoeD

    JoeD

    JoeD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    277
    It's not a transistor. Stop calling it that. It is a transformer.

    These are transistors, at least the bottom row is.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2012
  10. Jan 5, 2012 #10

    JoeD

    JoeD

    JoeD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    277
    That diagram would certainly turn on the valve. But what turns on the heat? There is more to the system than just the valve and thermostat.
     
  11. Jan 5, 2012 #11

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    That't the way to do it. paul
     
  12. Jan 5, 2012 #12

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi JoeD Paul here. In his first post a few days ago , he said he was on the 5th
    floor of a large apartment building so i am assuming since there is not enough wires there to have a cable running to the boiler, that the boiler system has a main that runs hot all the time. It would be controlled by a indoor, outdoor stat, which would control the water temp. This way each apartment can have heat when ever they want it. I have put in system like this and worked on many of them. It would be a bank of boilers. Paul
     
  13. Jan 5, 2012 #13

    acproblem

    acproblem

    acproblem

    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is a 50 unit condo. the hot water is provided in the pipe. Problem is I have received another diagram from an electriciain ..he wants to :

    Red wire from Transformer to Red from Thermostat.
    The white wire from transformer to screw marked "2" on the valve.
    The other thermostat wire (I don't know the color) to screw marked "1" on
    the valve.
    That should do the trick.

    IMG_20120105_083428v4.jpg
     
  14. Jan 5, 2012 #14

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    he is telling you what normal color code would be . both ways will work. paul
     
  15. Jan 5, 2012 #15

    acproblem

    acproblem

    acproblem

    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    he is telling me to connect reds together from thermostat and transformer and run abother cable from the other screw on the transformer to screw #2 on the valve (he calls it white)

    you are telling me to connect red from thermostat to the screw on transformer and run the other red from transformer to screw #2 on the valve

    so the common denominator so far is :
    white wire from the thermostat runs to screw #1 onthe valve

    so ..both ways will work ? really dont want to damage $100 part of transformer...
     
  16. Jan 5, 2012 #16

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just use his diagram and it will work fine. Paul
     
  17. Jan 5, 2012 #17

    JoeD

    JoeD

    JoeD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    277
    His diagram is the same as yours. He is just using different colours.

    The basic principle is that one of the wires between the transformer and the valve has to go through the thermostat and get switched.
     
  18. Jan 5, 2012 #18

    acproblem

    acproblem

    acproblem

    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    does the transformer has 2 different poles ? like + or - ?
    does it matter to what screw I connect the wire coming from the thermostat and then from transformer to the valve ? if it does not then yes ..either diagram is ok. if it does then I need to know which wire goes where ....
     
  19. Jan 5, 2012 #19

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    It does not make any difference. Take one wire from the transformer ether post and put it on post 2 of zone valve. Take the other transformer post and run that
    to stat ether wire as long as you use one of the wires tied to the stat. the other wire coming back from the stat goes to the post 1 of the zone valve
    Transformers do have a common and a hot post but in your case it does not matter. If you was using a heat antisapator than it would make a difference. You would run the hot post from the transformer to the stat. paul
     
  20. Jan 5, 2012 #20

    acproblem

    acproblem

    acproblem

    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    this assumes my thermostat does not have a heat anticipator ...what if it does ? I should be able to open it up and see inside if there is some thing to adjust ...that would be the heat anticipator, correct ?
     

Share This Page