re-running condensate drain

Discussion in 'HVAC' started by beachguy005, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. Jan 24, 2013 #1

    beachguy005

    beachguy005

    beachguy005

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    310
    Hi folks,
    I need to move my ac drain. I'd like to just relocate it to drain directly into my deep sink in the garage. It will also give me the option of collecting it for watering plants.
    I'm in SW Florida so it generates a fair amount of water.
    Any issues with this idea?
    Thanks,
     
  2. Jan 24, 2013 #2

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23,896
    Likes Received:
    3,117
    Other than leaving the plug in the sink, I don't think there should be a problem. You could run it to a rain barrel outside.
     
  3. Jan 24, 2013 #3

    Wuzzat?

    Wuzzat?

    Wuzzat?

    Well-Known Member Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    175
    Leave some way to clear blockages, either with high pressure water from a garden hose, or coat hanger wires. These things which carry only water find some way to plug themselves up.

    There may also be an overflow designed to alert the homeowner that the normal pipe is plugged; it usually drains outside somewhere.

    "Probably the most misunderstood portion of a condensate drain system is trap installation. The primary purpose of a condensate trap is to prevent air from moving in or out of the coil box or air handler during operation. Traps must be installed in a manner that will stop the air from passing through, but still allow the condensate to drain from the condensate pan."
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2013
  4. Jan 25, 2013 #4

    beachguy005

    beachguy005

    beachguy005

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    310
    Thanks for the replies. Running it to the sink removes about 20 feet of run and three 90s. There doesn't appear to be any trap. An elbow into 3/4 drain pipe out of the bottom of the unit. They also have another line coming out of the pan, which they piped to drain into the soffit, of all places. I'm moving that also.
     
  5. Jan 25, 2013 #5

    Wuzzat?

    Wuzzat?

    Wuzzat?

    Well-Known Member Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    175
    Yeah, that soffit thing is supposed to drain outside to alert the HO that there is a clog.
     

Share This Page