Running wire for my Generator

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by SeattleDIY, Nov 10, 2008.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
  1. Nov 10, 2008 #1

    SeattleDIY

    SeattleDIY

    SeattleDIY

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a box to hook up my generator to my house. Since my panel is in my home and not in the garage,when I use it I have to feed the wire out a window. Not too quiet and a pita.

    I am planning to put a plug on the exterior and wire it to the box inside. I will be using 10/3 with ground.

    The question is,since I will be running it inside the walls,would it be wise to run the iwre in flex conduit for protection??
     
  2. Nov 11, 2008 #2

    kok328

    kok328

    kok328

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    250
    Apparently my response has to be more than 10 letters long.

    Answer to your question: Yes.
     
  3. Nov 11, 2008 #3

    handyguys

    handyguys

    handyguys

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    2
    No - Wire inside the walls does not need to be in conduit. On the surface of the wall outside its a good idea.
     
  4. Nov 11, 2008 #4

    ALCHYMIST

    ALCHYMIST

    ALCHYMIST

    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hope the "panel" you mentioned is a real transfer switch or a main service panel equipped with a transfer switch kit. And have you resolved the neutral/ground bonding issue for your installation? PM me if you have questions about either........:)
     
  5. Nov 12, 2008 #5

    SeattleDIY

    SeattleDIY

    SeattleDIY

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the reply. it is a 30amp transfer switch made by Energen.
     
  6. Nov 12, 2008 #6

    kok328

    kok328

    kok328

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    250
    It is perfectly acceptable to run MC cable inside a wall.
    The question was "would it be wise".
    The added protection of MC sheilding is always better than romex but, not necessary and not against code.
     

Share This Page