Solder Instead of Wire Nuts?

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by stevieray, Jan 26, 2011.

  1. Jan 26, 2011 #1

    stevieray

    stevieray

    stevieray

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everybody.

    I am currently rewiring much of my home. It is a converted commercial space, built in the late 40's with additions done at least once per decade... so the place is veritable museum of the evolution of electrical practices (and plumbing and insulation, etc...).

    Today I ran across something I've never seen before -- electrical splices made with solder instead of wire nuts! In my younger days I was an electronic hobbyist, so I know electronic connections are commonly made using solder... but I've never heard of it done on house wiring. These connections were then wrapped with some kind of resin impregnated tape, which is as hard as a rock. As you can imagine, it is truly a joy to work on these things... :rolleyes:

    Anyway, my question is this: Would these things pass an inspection today? As it is I will be replacing many of them to accomplish the job I am doing, but I wonder if I should seek out all of them and redo them in the interests of safety?
     
  2. Jan 26, 2011 #2

    JoeD

    JoeD

    JoeD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    273
    Connections that old likely don't have gounds so seeking them out and replacing the cables would be a good idea. The connections themselves are fine.
     
  3. Jan 26, 2011 #3

    joecaption

    joecaption

    joecaption

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    295
    With wiring that old and added on to so many times I would also be looking at the incoming power line to see if it needs to upgraded (power company most often will do this for free. Making sure there's at least a 200 amp. service with breakers not fuses.
     
  4. Jan 27, 2011 #4

    stevieray

    stevieray

    stevieray

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the responses guys.

    The power and breaker boxes have already been upgraded, as it was a commercial space up until recently. It has two 200 amp panels. As for the grounds, well that's one of the reasons I am doing all this work. At some point an aluminum ground wire was daisy-chained between some of the outlet/switch boxes, but not all. And some of the old wire is BX, grounded through the armor, but the insulation is crumbling in much of it.

    I guess I'll just replace it all. A bit more work, but I'll sleep better that way.
     
  5. Feb 4, 2011 #5

    frozenstar

    frozenstar

    frozenstar

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree on checking the incoming power lines with the old wirings. Hope it went well.
     
  6. Feb 6, 2011 #6

    stevieray

    stevieray

    stevieray

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am just curious if anyone else has ever run across this way of doing it. I've been doing kitchen/bath renovations for a decade now, and I've never seen it before.
     

Share This Page