Switched receptacle confusion

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by leon99, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. Feb 14, 2010 #1

    leon99

    leon99

    leon99

    New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I have two receptacles controlled by a single switch. Both outlets on both receptacles are 'switch controlled' and no tabs are broken. All three boxes have a single wire with white/black/ground.

    Is there any way to make one 1/2 receptacle (i.e. one of the outlets) 'always on'? I also don't understand how this could have been wired without any additional wires and pigtails?
     
  2. Feb 15, 2010 #2

    Blue Jay

    Blue Jay

    Blue Jay

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    25
    Yes you could by running another wire to the box and breaking off the tab.
     
  3. Feb 15, 2010 #3

    ohmy

    ohmy

    ohmy

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Make it constant hot and install an X-10 or Radiora system for your outlets.
     
  4. Feb 15, 2010 #4

    Wuzzat?

    Wuzzat?

    Wuzzat?

    Well-Known Member Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    175
    With an incand. test light, first check if any wire in the outlet box in which you want to have unswitched power, is always hot when measured with respect to ground.
    You might get lucky.

    A 7-1/2w bulb in a socket with pigtail leads makes a good all-around tester and it can also check GFCI operation.
     

Share This Page