Thinking of Buying a House

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

drdexter33

Reaction score
Hello There.

I am thinking about buying a house that I have been renting for a few years.

I think it was built in the early 90's and possibly has the original roof although the owner replaced the HVAC unit, however I think he did it as cheaply as he possibly could.

The question that I have is surrounding the fact that I suspect that there are some foundation issues with the house and the reason that I suspect this is because I've noticed some cracks in the living room wall as well as I've noticed that the window sills on one side of the house are separating from the windows.

I've attached some photos for reference and to get an opinion on this.

Thanks.

dec_11_2015_002.jpg

Here are some pictures of the wall and ceiling that I mentioned:

dec_11_2015_003.jpg

dec_11_2015_004.jpg

Thanks in advance.

Is there a basement? Can you get photos of the foundation wall inside and outside in those locations?

Can you go outside and take a look at the wall where the window is and also the crack?

No basement, so in coastal Carolina you could be on a slab or on stilts?? Have the cracks been getting worse since you have been there? Sometimes it's just a matter of new construction settling, but if the problem is just developing or has been getting worse, then you might be looking at bigger problems.

It's on a slab.

The cracks seem to have been getting worse.

There are also cracks appearing where the walls are joining the kitchen cabinets.

I'll check outside of the windows for cracks however there is no exterior wall where the wall photo was taken.

It could also just have a crawl space with a foundation.

So where the wall is cracking it’s an interior wall?

I don’t know if I would want to rent that house but I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t want to buy it.