Flashing for precast steps

Discussion in 'General Home Improvement Discussion' started by ctkulig, Jul 14, 2008.

  1. Jul 14, 2008 #1

    ctkulig

    ctkulig

    ctkulig

    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just ordered 6' wide precast steps for my concrete patio. I know I will need to remove some siding under my sliding glass door. I don't know if the company will flash when they install or if that is my responsibility, so what I need to know is how should I go about flashing if I need to do it?

    Thanks in advance,
    ctkulig
     
  2. Aug 6, 2008 #2

    kok328

    kok328

    kok328

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    249
    If your worried about whether or not it will be done, then talk with your contractor. I'm shure they will do it if you mention it to him/her. Otherwise, you could just buy some Z flashing, caulk & roofing nails and install it yourself. Just put a bead of caulk about an inch down from the top of the flashed surface, tuck the flashing up behind the drip edge or layer of siding, nail it in place and apply finishing trim.

    lol - almost sounds like I know what I'm talking about .....:D
     
  3. Aug 6, 2008 #3

    inspectorD

    inspectorD

    inspectorD

    Housebroken Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,502
    Likes Received:
    267
    is this an old rehashed post? I thought we had this one covered?
    You could install flashing, but I would not. The concrete over the wood will cause pest issues, always does.
    Good luck with your unseen termites or ants.:eek:
     

Share This Page