Frigidaire washer wont turn on?

Discussion in 'General Appliance Discussion' started by StevenC, Feb 18, 2012.

  1. Feb 18, 2012 #1

    StevenC

    StevenC

    StevenC

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    The other day my washer made a popping sound. I started investigating and found the terminal on the back where the power cord attaches to fried, so I replaced that. The washer was working intermittenly but now the washer wont turn on at all. Also, the dryer will tumble but it wont get hot.

    Its an older frigidaire stack unit

    Now I'm trouble shooting the cause of this? Btw, the lid switch tests fine.
     
  2. Feb 19, 2012 #2

    kok328

    kok328

    kok328

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    249
    Is the breaker in the main panel tripped?
    Can you find any fuses inside the washer that are bad?
    Are you getting correct voltage from the outlet?
     
  3. Feb 19, 2012 #3

    StevenC

    StevenC

    StevenC

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    The main breaker wasn't tripped. I haven't been able to locate the fuses, do they have them on older models? FLSE60RGS2 I haven't thought to check the voltage.

    Could the timer switch be bad?
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2012
  4. Feb 19, 2012 #4

    jeff1

    jeff1

    jeff1

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    34
    Hi,

    Checked the cord and receptical also?

    Loss of 1/2 power to the unit is prime suspect. Black to red is 220-240 volts AC and black or red to white is 110-120 volts AC.

    Just the house fuse box ones.

    Not normally with both units being effected.

    jeff.
     
  5. Feb 20, 2012 #5

    StevenC

    StevenC

    StevenC

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    What should I look for on the cord? It appears fine. I'll test the receptical when I get back home.

    If the receptical or cord was bad, why does the dryer still tumble?

    The breaker wasn't tripped either. I flipped it once to make sure its on.

    I appreciate the input guys!
     
  6. Feb 20, 2012 #6

    jeff1

    jeff1

    jeff1

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    34
    Make sure the plug end is not burnt as well....and the receptical.

    Post your volt meter results.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Can get 1/2 power....motor only needs 120 volts to run but the heat needs 240 volts to work and the washer works off of the same plug for it's power.

    jeff.
     
  7. Feb 20, 2012 #7

    StevenC

    StevenC

    StevenC

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    My ohm meter has alligator clamps on it, so I went to plug the cord in and test it at the terminal instead to give me something to clamp too. As soon as I plugged it in to the wall the washer started to fill up!!

    I'm thrilled but baffled at the same time.

    I know I tested the new terminal last week and nothing happened, yet today everything is working, even the dryer is putting out heat.
     
  8. Feb 21, 2012 #8

    jeff1

    jeff1

    jeff1

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    34
    A loose connection very possible.

    jeff.
     

Share This Page