I suppose here is the appropriate forum... Tool shed construction.

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lancer525

Reaction score
I'm planning for the build of a small tool shed, to store my lawnmower, rakes, gardening stuff, table saw, and a few other odds and ends, and have run into a bureaucratic nightmare.

I'm going to do one of those "precut" wooden shed kits, primarily because lumber prices are horrifying right now. I really don't want to put it on treated wood foundation, but would rather put a nice little 4" concrete slab down. Here's where the issues are starting. Since it is bigger than 120 square feet, I am required by local ordinance to have a building permit. That requires construction drawings, and the use of a licensed contractor. I have zero experience with concrete, and cannot do it myself. I called the local building inspection office, and explained I was wanting to build a small tool shed in my backyard. Since it was bigger than 120 square feet - And this is where the guy cut me off and started reciting "all residential construction of concrete foundations must have full 12" by 16" footings in a 6" thick slab, with #4 rebar and be inspected. Two sets of construction drawings signed by a certified engineer must be provided, and a full building permit including electrical and plumbing drawings must be submitted before construction begins." I tried to explain that I'm not building Windsor Castle, and that all three of the concrete contractors all told me that unless I was parking a semi on it, that a 4" slab with fencing mesh would do for a tool shed, but the building code guy just would not listen. He kept repeating himself, and finally, he told me to "Consult the building codes" and hung up on me.