junction in the service panel

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by asbestos, Jun 17, 2012.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
  1. Jun 17, 2012 #1

    asbestos

    asbestos

    asbestos

    Good with caulk

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    3
    Is it ok to have a wire nutted connection in the service panel?
     
  2. Jun 17, 2012 #2

    kok328

    kok328

    kok328

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,797
    Likes Received:
    264
    Is it ok to have a wire nutted connection in the service panel? Yes
     
  3. Jun 17, 2012 #3

    CallMeVilla

    CallMeVilla

    CallMeVilla

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    594
    If the wire nutted splice is attached to a breaker, then it is OK. However, if the wire nutted connections are part of a pass-through, i.e., using the service panel as a junction box, then it is a big NO-NO.
     
  4. Jun 17, 2012 #4

    asbestos

    asbestos

    asbestos

    Good with caulk

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    3
    No It goes to a breaker. In classic newbie form I cut the wire too short. so I was going to splice in an extra 18" to make it around to the breaker.
     
  5. Jun 18, 2012 #5

    CallMeVilla

    CallMeVilla

    CallMeVilla

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    594
    Everybody makes mistakes. :0) I came up shoty on a 22v line inside a garage one time. Had to put in a j-box. I prefer continuous wire for 220v but it is perfectly OK to use a j-box.

    In your case, this pigtail is allowed and it should be no problem. As a personal practice, I tape the connection after applying the wire nut. Just guarantees no slippage.

    Spark ON!
     
  6. Jun 18, 2012 #6

    kok328

    kok328

    kok328

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,797
    Likes Received:
    264
    Just to be sure, you will have to use larger or same size wire to complete the run.
     
  7. Jun 20, 2012 #7

    Parrothead

    Parrothead

    Parrothead

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Happens a lot with service changes (even though I know this wasn't the case here). The wire is not long enough for the new panel, so your choices are to have j-boxes all around the new panel or make your splices in the new panel. You are fine.
     
  8. Jun 24, 2012 #8

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    Lic.Electrical Contractor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    44
    May I ask why? And what the voltage has to do with it??
    Statements like this always puzzle me.
     

Share This Page