junction in the service panel

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by asbestos, Jun 17, 2012.

  1. Jun 17, 2012 #1

    asbestos

    asbestos

    asbestos

    Good with caulk

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    3
    Is it ok to have a wire nutted connection in the service panel?
     
  2. Jun 17, 2012 #2

    kok328

    kok328

    kok328

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    249
    Is it ok to have a wire nutted connection in the service panel? Yes
     
  3. Jun 17, 2012 #3

    CallMeVilla

    CallMeVilla

    CallMeVilla

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    594
    If the wire nutted splice is attached to a breaker, then it is OK. However, if the wire nutted connections are part of a pass-through, i.e., using the service panel as a junction box, then it is a big NO-NO.
     
  4. Jun 17, 2012 #4

    asbestos

    asbestos

    asbestos

    Good with caulk

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    3
    No It goes to a breaker. In classic newbie form I cut the wire too short. so I was going to splice in an extra 18" to make it around to the breaker.
     
  5. Jun 18, 2012 #5

    CallMeVilla

    CallMeVilla

    CallMeVilla

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    594
    Everybody makes mistakes. :0) I came up shoty on a 22v line inside a garage one time. Had to put in a j-box. I prefer continuous wire for 220v but it is perfectly OK to use a j-box.

    In your case, this pigtail is allowed and it should be no problem. As a personal practice, I tape the connection after applying the wire nut. Just guarantees no slippage.

    Spark ON!
     
  6. Jun 18, 2012 #6

    kok328

    kok328

    kok328

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    249
    Just to be sure, you will have to use larger or same size wire to complete the run.
     
  7. Jun 20, 2012 #7

    Parrothead

    Parrothead

    Parrothead

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Happens a lot with service changes (even though I know this wasn't the case here). The wire is not long enough for the new panel, so your choices are to have j-boxes all around the new panel or make your splices in the new panel. You are fine.
     
  8. Jun 24, 2012 #8

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    Lic.Electrical Contractor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    44
    May I ask why? And what the voltage has to do with it??
    Statements like this always puzzle me.
     

Share This Page